Controlled Mining for cryptocurrency

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)


Image Credit

I know this is normally a blog style site but I had a question that hopefully someone or a group could weigh in on. I am declining payment for this for that reason. I have been reading about blockchain technology and am starting to understand some of it. I thought I would ask this community for their advice/expertise to see if my variation to the idea is possible.

Would it be possible to withhold mining privileges of people who have any first order connections to the two parties involved in the transaction at hand?

I am thinking of an instance where Jim might know a lot of people who mine a cryptocurrency. He has this plan to call on his friends to help cheat the system. Therefore he sets up a big transaction with a wealthy random person with intentions on fudging the ledger and having his friends mine it quick enough to allow this to happen. Would it be possible to exclude Jim's friends from mining this specific transaction/block that the transaction is on? This would ideally help with fraud of the system and maybe potentially keep a large group from banning together to over take the network.

I have read that this type of business would take an extremely large resource of computing power, even when sharing the load. Also, I realize defining terminology here is crucial. Things like identifying friends of the parties involved. What exactly constitutes a friend? My first pass at the friend would be anyone who has had a transaction with a given party within a certain time window.

Before trying to get too much into the weeds I also realize the anonymity of the blockchain could enable people to make fake accounts or just accounts used for mining purposes to do such transactions. I would like to get insight on the actual capabilities if such logic can be placed within the blockchain framework and then also pitfalls, loopholes and/or workarounds people may be able to come up with in order to render this ineffective. Please let me know your thoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66