Money: Lessons from Literature

Joe_Chiappetta_Money.jpg
It is remarkable how a book about the Paris stock market, written in 1890 AD, can be completely relevant in modern times. That is exactly what Emile Zola accomplished with Money, a captivating book that speaks volumes about the glory and dangers of financial speculation in any era. Throughout this tale, the author paints an unforgettable view of the blinding nature of pride, greed, and so much more.

Rarely have I read novels so captivating as Zola's. In fact, according to my Russian friend, Eugen, who recommended this book to me, the novel had been required reading when he was in school, decades ago. And I can see why it is so highly esteemed. Zola masterfully uses real-life events to weave powerful scenarios into this fictitious tale--lessons the whole world needs to know. The end result is a true portrait of humanity's struggles with money, and with each other. The good, the bad, and the very ugly are all covered, with all their glory as well as vanity.

Why is this book relevant today?

For those who trade in cryptocurrency or the stock market today, there are countless lessons to take away from the novel. I will highlight just some of the standout nuggets that I have received from reading Zola's Money:

  • How quickly we can lose our objectivity when we are overly investing in something.
  • How money, if not used with integrity, can ruin whole families.
  • How easily people can be deceived in business dealings.
  • Devotion to any investment will not make it succeed.
  • When money or price manipulation becomes an idol in our lives, ruin is only a matter of time.
  • There will always be people who want you to fail, and they will use money against you
  • An investment (such as Bitcoin, Ethereum, or stock in Facebook) can look like the most amazing asset one week, yet the next week it can completely let you down.
  • The truth (including shady dealings) will eventually find you out.

I really can go on and on about how much this book has moved me, and I thank Eugen for recommending this epic financial novel to me. I encourage anyone who speculates on the market (crypto or otherwise) to read this book ASAP. It will entertain you, enlighten you, and for some, even put a healthy fear of God in you.

~~~

For those interested, I also wrote a book about money, but from a biblical perspective. It is called Mega Debt-Busters and you can find it on Amazon.

Sort:  

Thanks for the great review! Good thoughts to ponder amid all the FUD out there.

Thank you for the review, I will consider reading this book. Although I'm an economist by training ( still haven't my degree...) I consider money in general as a very delicate subject. The Bible is pretty clear about money, putting faith in money and what can offer is no different than idolatry. I am using money in my daily life and also have some crypto investments but by no means I consider money as something that has value in itself and by no means something that can bring me happiness. Money for me is something more like a neccesary evil.

May I also recommend a book that has impacted much my way of thinking? It's called ''Money and Power'' written by French philosopher Jacques Ellul. It it the only book I have ever written that analyses money from a Biblical perspective and discusses about the spiritual effects of money to man. It is the book that has absolutely shaped my views regarding wealth and money and I think you will like this sir!

I will look into that book too. Thanks so much for that recommendation and for sharing your insights. Money definitely is, as you say, "a very delicate subject."

Great review I am intrigued t get a copy and read it now

Thanks. Yes, that is how I felt from the first time my friend recommended it to me. And me, usually being a slow reader, got through the whole book faster than I expected. I think anyone on Steem will be moved by this book.

I will try and check our library for it tomorrow

Yes, I would bet that most libraries have it. That's where I got mine from.

On Friday I will check the link cal library for it

Interesting. I have to say from my background in stocks, its rather hard to place any value on cryptos. Even as much as I love Steemit, it doesn't have earnings per se.

Having a background in stocks is generally a plus for people in crypto now. I also think the value placement can be challenging, particularly for cryptos with no product yet. But for those with a working and active use-case now, they will find their value much more realistically.

interesting thing to know from this thanks for sharing

perfect day to read it because it will teach us a lot

thanks for recommending this looks interesting to read

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23