How Cryptocurrency Has Helped Me

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

I met Alexander Djan in 2015 whiles working in a company here in Accra and somewhere along the line, we became friends. Sometime later in 2017, he started talking about how he was going to be rich and buy a Lamborghini and blah blah blah. I didn't really pay attention and I wasn't really interested. I just know about coming to work, finishing my 8 hour shift and going back home to wait for the next day. I worked 7 days a week, no off days until you went on leave, so I believed I had better things to think about.


Photo Credit

Somewhere in 2017, Alexander Djan, who I often referred to as Alexis bought an Iphone 7 which was quiet expensive here in Ghana, and considering hat we both took the same salary, I was curious to know how he could afford it. Upon pestering him for a while, he told me about steemit. That's the first crypto I came to know off, even though I've heard of bitcoin especially in movies. He asked me to sign up, make posts and get rewarded, and that sounded very simple to me.

I created an account, which took forever to be approved, then I started blogging. My introduction post had about $1 rewards but after that, it was almost impossible to get just $0.1, and the price of steem was quite high. I could write what I thought was a beautiful post and get rewarded less than $0.10 and I could see memes get rewarded $50. I gave up after a month but when steem got to 8$, I became more active on steemit and I've learnt more about cryptocurrency through steemit. I managed with the low rewards, and still have low rewards but I love the fact that, it makes me think about a lot of things and I meet new people everyday.

I went out of work March 2018 and some crypto moves I made when I had some money has helped sustain me until now. I did a lot of cloud minings with a lot of those websited varnishing but \i think it's all part of the learning process. Today, I know more about a lot of other cryptocurrencies and a lot of platforms that rewards users for their content. Crypto has made me meet people and get an informal education. Crypto has made me into a bit of a writer, even though I'm far from good enough., but still working on it.

A friend of mine in Kenya recently sent me 1000 KSH (Kenya Shillings) and was charged a fee of 150 KSH (Kenya Shllings). I then introduced her to bitcoin since it's the easiest to buy and cryptocurrencies as a whole and she loved it. Crypto is still new, and adoption is still low but in the near future here could be a lot of possibilities. I'm glad I got on the train early enough, even though I don't have much crypto, it's better than nothing.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Hi, @fredkese!

You just got a 0.79% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25