October 2018 recap - Slightly down

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

Again a month has passed and it wasn't a very interesting one. Let me show you how the markets went and what my portfolio did.

image.png

Market update

The total market cap of cryptocurrencies went down about 7.5% from 220 bn to 205 bn. Bitcoin dominance was up a bit, from 51.4% to 54.0%.
Looking at the prices of the individual currencies, Bitcoin went down slightly from $6,500 to $6,400 this month. The price of Ethereum (once again...) dropped nearly 15% from $230 to $200.

Current Portfolio

As in the previous months I did buy €100 more in Bitcoin and Ethereum (€50 both). My overall portfolio value is now the same as one month ago. That means that I realized a net loss of about €100. Once again my portfolio shifted a bit more to BTC, because ETH price was down more. My personal BTC "dominance" is now at 67%.
In total I have invested €2,400 in Ethereum and Bitcoin, so I'm at a pretty big overall loss now.

image.png

I did manage to increase my STEEM (Power) holdings the last month. Thanks to the great support of a lot of people, I became a minnow and I'm now on 503 SP (from 483 a month ago).

With two months to go this year, I can probably already say that 2018 will not go into the history books as a good year for cryptocurrency. I hope however that a little improvement is still possible and that we see some green numbers in November (and December). We'll see it next month in my next recap (or earlier on the markets).

Sort:  

You never now. Believe it or not, a bull run of one month can set new records. But to be honest I do agree with you. It will be the first dark year and it will be interesting to see how the market next year will react on this.

It would be nice if we could see some kind of a bull run, but the market cap on Jan 1st of this year will clearly not be reached.
Indeed interesting to see how next year will go. One might argue that the most likely way is up, but in the end it can always go down further...

It is easy to predict the lowest possible point, which is just zero!
It is hard to predict if, when and how the market can increase!

Hi @erikklok!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.454 which ranks you at #37753 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 223 places in the last three days (old rank 37976).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 278 contributions, your post is ranked at #231.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75