The creator of Popcron Time is launching a blockchain based video streaming service called Flixxo

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

So this is very unusual for me, my third ICO/Crypto related post in as many days, but I just had to post about this because so far I haven't seen anything about Flixxo on Steemit yet.

flixxo.png

Recently I was chatting with my uncle and I started talking to him about Steemit. To my surprise he told me that he never got into Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies (surprising because he is a computer networking/security guy). He could clearly see how into I was and he told me he would for sure check out Steemit, but he is always reading and finding new things anyway and today he sent me an email with a link to Flixxo's token sale announcement simply stating "thought you might be interested in this..."

straight to the point.jpg

Haha, straight to the point, short and sweet, no punctuation or anything, it's just an email, I love it.

Well anyhow I took a bit of time to check out Flixxo and it seems like it could be kind of interesting. From what I can tell they don't have a functioning platform yet, I think that is what the ICO is about, to raise the funding needed to get it all set up. Their token is going to be an ERC20 called Flixx and from what I understand will be used within the platform to promote your own content, promote other poster's content, pay to watch certain videos/streams and perhaps some other things.

It seems like their model might be something along the lines of what Synereo is/was thinking of/doing (side note: anyone heard anything about wildspark recently? I sure haven't... STEEM ON BABY!!!!) ... What was I saying...

nowhere.jpg

Oh yeah, Synereo.

So the wildspark model was one of exchanging tokens for promotion/rewards. As in I want to promote my post, so I pay a certain number of AMPs to promote it, then people see my post, they like it, and they tip me a certain number of AMPs cause they are generous and are willing to give away their AMPs to me because they love my content that much and you can't exactly read articles, view pictures and watch videos for free on literally every other webpage on the internet.

sarcasm.jpg

If you can't tell yet I don't think Synereo's model is one that makes sense or will work in the long run, not when we have a system like Steemit that allows people to promote, upvote and like your content FOR FREE AAAAAAND pays you for doing that.

Anyhow I'm getting off topic again, but like I said it seems like Flixxo is going a similar route, which may mean that I am wrong (maybe they see something I don't?) but I really can't see people paying their hard earned crypto's to watch special videos, gain access to streaming, or promote other people's content with no rewards to themselves. I watch youtube all the time, but I have never considered subscribing to youtube red, seems stupid to me, and if the video is that important it will go viral and I'll see it anyhow. I have Netflix for movies and TV that I actually care enough to pay for, problem solved there. If I want to support youtubers I'll turn my adblocker off for them but I'm not a patreon type of guy, though I can see this being a pretty good alternative to that, and I might consider supporting some of my favorite video producers patreon style on something like Flixxo.

One thing that is very fascinating about Flixxo is that it is going to use Bitttorent protocol to host and share videos, which makes sense as the creator of Popcorn Time is one of the co founders here. This could add a whole new dimension to the decentralized video sharing space and I think it's kind of brilliant. This is also how Flixxo will be rewarding it's users. They will essentially be rewarding you for being part of their decentralized storage network. If you decide to be a "seeder" (in torrent speak) you will earn Flixx for doing so, and contributing to the network. A neat and innovative model if you ask me.

interesting.jpg

You can watch their explanation video here:

(perhaps ironically hosted on youtube) which also explains a bit more of their vision.

All in all I'm not sure I'm 100% into it right now but I will be watching this closely, and if nothing else it is super exciting to see this type of stuff coming out so quickly now, I think that we may be approaching that moon time that we all know is coming. Is mass adoption of blockchain and cryptocurrencies just around the corner?

As always if you enjoyed this post feel free to drop one of those sweet, precious, juicy upvotes on me! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to keep up with all of our travels and see new original content every day.

You can also see our professional photography work if you want to by heading over to our website dallaskphoto.com and dallaskolotylo.com.

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

Interesting idea, but someone needs to tell these guys that Dtube already exists and just about anyone can upload anything to it.

good job..

First time when I see a post about crypto with so many memes !

Too many blockchain related news, noboday tells you its legit or scam :(

this plat looks amazing and fun thanks for sharing

haha perfect post :D

There is thousand coins and token introduced daily. Don't know which one is legit and scam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94