TIL : You Can Write a Gaelic Song about BitCoin

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

What happens when you make jokes on Twitter and get called out?

Yesterday, I caught a Tweet from @SkyCorridors (AKA Naomi Brockewell) that was, ummmm, unique. Naomi is also known as "BitCoin Girl" and likes to make parody videos about cryptocurrency. She's not the only one, but she's pretty good at it.

I don't know if the video making is Naomi's claim to fame or how she earns her money, but they are interesting and hopefully she's been tipped in BitCoin or something similar.

Author note: I know that Naomi makes money MCing cryptocurrency events and other things, but I'm ignoring it for story plot.

So, knowing what Naomi does, it wasn't too much of a surprise to see that she was working on a new BitCoin song. But, the surprise was in the video snippet that she posted on Twitter. My impressions are, that I probably should drink heavily before watching the entire video.

However, since I'm a bit of a smart ass and like to start trouble, I called out Naomi for doing a Japanese language video and not a Scottish one by challenging her to write a Gaelic song.

Not that Naomi is from Scotland, as far as I know her ancestors were paupers sent to debtors prison in Australia.

Anyway, that didn't stop me from making demanding a request.


namoi-1.jpg
namoi-2.jpg

And of course, since Naomi doesn't take no flack from a guy with fodder growing from his head, she challenged me to write-up a song by Friday. It's a good thing that Naomi is in New York or some other far off place and didn't challenge me to don my kilt and dance behind her.

Maybe if I had a few more months I could find the appropriate tune and make sure the Gaelic version is more flowing, but at least there is something for Naomi and her sister to work with.

Now, as I mentioned to Naomi before, that she should do something with Naomi van der Velde, Laura Saggers and Elaine Diane Taylor. I think a depressing Gaelic dirge might be more Elaine 's style, than the Naomis and Laura's. So, when I Tweet this out, I am going to include them as well. Maybe something magical will happen and these lovely ladies will create a wonderful rendition that is sad, soothing and sweet.

Well, here we go...
Update: ...the response

The Dark Days of BitCoin (Gaelic)

Ann an glow aoibhneas na Nollaige
Bha mòran againn fhathast a 'glaodhaich
An dèidh meudachadh a thoirt air an toradh airgid againn
Ar artaigilean, bha iad a 'siubha

Ach thàinig fuachd a 'gheamhraidh
Shìos na cnuic thàinig e gu tur
Bha na tweets cruaidh agus èiginn
Bha fir sgiobalta feargach a 'bualadh

Anns na làithean dorcha de bitcoin
Càit an robh mo chasan
An deach an leabhar-làimhe briste
Folamh mar mo ghlainne

Bha eagal anns an èadhar
Mar a bha sinn a 'crochadh air tether
A 'sùileachadh bhuinn airgid a shàbhaladh
Ach chaill sinn anns an t-seadh

An deach an dòchas a chall
Chan e facal adhartach ri labhairt
Cha robh a 'ghealach annasach
Bha na buinn againn a 'dol chun a' chuan

Anns na làithean dorcha de bitcoin
Càit an robh mo chasan
An deach an leabhar-làimhe briste
Folamh mar mo ghlainne

A-nis tha mi a 'suidhe an seo fhèin
Le leth mo luach a dhìth
A 'sgrìobadh air mo shùilean
A chionn 's gur e iasgach a th' ann an sgoltagan

Thoir air ais na làithean soilleir
Chan eil buannachd làitheil ann do dheugaire
Tha mi airson a bhith a 'cluinntinn an tubaist
Bho mo Bitcoin Lamborghini

Anns na làithean dorcha de bitcoin
Càit an robh mo chasan
An deach an leabhar-làimhe briste
Folamh mar mo ghlainne


The Dark Days of BitCoin (English)

In the glow of the Christmas joy
Many of us were still gleaming
Having increased our coinage yield
Our articles, they were steaming

But came the winter cold
Down the hills it came tumbling
The tweets were harsh and cruel
Wise men were angry mumbling

In the dark days of bitcoin
Where were you my lass
Was your ledger broken
Empty like my glass

Fear was in the air
As we hung on to a tether
Hoping to save coins
But we were lost in the ether

Was all hope lost
Not a positive word to be spoken
The moon was unreachable
Our coins headed to the ocean

In the dark days of bitcoin
Where were you my lass
Was your ledger broken
Empty like my glass

Now I sit here alone
With half my value missing
Grasping on to my lumens
As scoundrels are fishing

Bring back the bright days
No daily gains a teeny
I wish to hear the rumble
From my Bitcoin Lamborghini

In the dark days of bitcoin
Where were you my lass
Was your ledger broken
Empty like my glass


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
Steem Badges

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


DestroyAllBots.png
Trading on Bittrex and Binance
Claim Your Stake with a Stake Box
HODLin’
Stellar Lumen(XLM) -- Cardano (ADA) -- Digibyte(DGB)
Get your old school text-based gaming on.

Sort:  

Response coming now...

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📈 7d
ADACardano0.195$18.29%32.17%
BTCBitcoin7669.570$11.06%12.94%
DGBDigiByte0.025$7.03%36.47%
STEEMSteem2.624$36.08%52.34%
XLMStellar0.227$11.12%15.7%

upvote just for the Gaelic, slàinte ! Song wasn't bad either :-)

Thanks!
I figured 3 verses is long enough for a drinking song, but I wanted to put more coin names in.

Filled your SteemNOVA request. ;)
Join us on Discord

thank! I will do :-) I don't usually have much luck with Discord but I'll try. I use a VPN that Discord doesn't like so they kick me a lot, assholes lol

Congratulations @deanlogic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60998.57
ETH 2912.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65