Crypto Is Teaching Us the Lessons School Left Out, and That Society Forgot

I met someone through work a year younger than me who also has a small crypto portfolio. I met him shortly after he purchased his first bitcoin about a year and a half ago, so he's seen huge gains since then, and has been enjoying the roller coaster ride. In my time knowing and working with him, I've noticed he likes to spend money. We make about the same amount, and we both have other income streams aside from our 9-5, but if you saw our lifestyles you would think he makes significantly more than I do. He has a nicer house with a mortgage, he drives a $50,000 dollar car, and has a bunch of dope toys I'm super jealous of. I on the other hand rent a house, drive a car worth $8000(that's payed off), and I'm still rocking my Iphone 6s. What the casual observer woudn't realize about my co-worker is that he bought that house with no money down, his car has a ten year loan on it, and his toys come from a maxed out credit card that he convinced himself was good for his credit. I'm not trying to speak ill of him, he pays his bills every month, but he is always down to his last dollar by pay day.

Right before Christmas we were talking, and he was telling me how maintenance on his house was substantially more than he expected, and that he was worried about paying for it. I suggested taking some bitcoin profits since he has done so well, and that I knew a handyman that could do the work cheap. He looked at me like I was mad! "why would I do that!? bitcoin's going to at least 100k! That's the money I'm opening m business with in 5 years!" He then gave me a 10 minute lecture about how our generation knows nothing about saving and investment. He was determined he could makes some spending cuts, and sell some toys in order to get the money he needed in time. The whole situation has him re-evaluating his finances, and realizing his money could go a lot further if he showed some restraint. I just sat back and listened with a little smirk on my face because I knew he had finally learned what school never taught him. He learned how wealth is created.

One lesson individuals learn quickly when entering the economy is that their dollar will be worth less tomorrow, than it is today, and if you listen to MSM, you would believe spending is what drives the economy. The world economy is built around the fiat US dollar, which is backed by nothing, and is inflated into dust year after year. This incentivizes spending, and punishes saving, which savings and investment the primary drivers of wealth creation. In fact our entire society, from the government, to entertainment, and education encourages spending, and does nothing to promote the benifits of saving. This is why everyone is so shocked and excited to see bitcoin increasing in value. The value of money increasing is a completely foreign phenomenon to them. No one ever considers when spending $5 on a cup of coffee that maybe that $5 will be worth $10 in a year, or $100 in five years, but this is exactly the thought process everyone has when spending some of their precious crypto. This I think will have a profound effect in the way my generation views money and spending in the future. Every time I go to make a frivolous purchase, I have the thought in my head "if I spent this $100 on crypto it could be worth $1000 one day" and this causes me to question all my purchases, and ask myself If I really need that new tv, or if I really need to go to my 20th concert this year. I start to think more about my future, and what I want to achieve in my lifetime. It's really cool to see the same effect occurring with my peers. Crypto is teaching us what real money, and real economics looks like. Just one more way crypto is revolutionizing our world.


-Daniel

Sort:  

Great post. I was blown away when I first learned about opportunity cost. Questioning what you're spending on and what you need to do in order to accomplish your goals will help set you up for success.

"I start to think more about my future, and what I want to achieve in my lifetime. It's really cool to see the same effect occurring with my peers."

Let's keep spreading this attitude around Steemit and beyond! Have a great year!

Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for your interesting blog.Have a great 2018!

Thanks for stopping by!

I really hope prices go up again. I am planning on getting a few dollar worth bitcoin this week now that the price is a bit down.

Im loving the Roller-Coaster ride of Alt coins!

it's quite addicting!

It is indeed, the main thing to understand the everything in life is just a series of waves. And as a surfer I'm Addicted not to each individual wave but to the ceiling I get on top of a wave in between sets and paddling out as well as coming in home.

Good post. I'm always on a budget, and don't buy a lot of toys. I mostly spend my money on experience not things.

I'm the same way, I don't have many toys but I've done a lot of traveling, I've been more concerts, festivals, and events than I could ever count. I'm happy i spent the time and money on things I enjoy, but at the same time I took it to the extreme and my businesses, and career suffered because of it. There is a healthy balance somewhere.

public brainwashing insitiuions why the fuck else woudl they throw ppl in jail 4 NOT FUCKING GOING THINK ABOUT IT GUYS! ur brainwashing ur kids! take them out of that shit !

Glad new year! 2018 will be an incredible year. What an adventure it has been with Steem. We both have seen a considerable measure over the previous year or something like that. This undertaking has shown me to such an extent. The things I have learned are worth more than any measure of cash en route. I see the world in an entirely different manner after all I have learned since beginning with Blockchains. I truly trust the world is moving into a superior place. In the expressions of the colossal Naveen Jain we as a whole should "have an outlook of plenitude". This blockchain can be a device to change the world for good and show individuals numerous things if utilized as a part of the correct way. Information is power and It will be a blockchain loaded with learning. The Steem blockchain is getting more grounded by the day. We have seen some astounding development since this blockchain began and I know this is just the begin. When we have a completely refined item it will have the capacity to do things we cannot envision yet. The expansion of SMTs into the blockchain will intrigue and will change the way we consider the web and what is conceivable. Groups and discussions are a gigantic piece of the web. The conceivable utilizations of SMTs are stunning to consider. With Steemit and Steem we are now rolling out improvements in places that need it and offering assistance to those in require. Envision what's on the horizon for us and this blockchain. We additionally have an incredible group behind this blockchain. That is one of the principle reasons I put my BTC into this task over a year prior in the wake of discovering it on the Bitcointalk gathering and faltering onto Steemit through google look through a couple of times (accidentally hunting down different things). I at that point started some examination and saw @dan talking a couple of times about Steem. At that point saw @ned talking on YouTube and on CheddarTV and knew instinctively then he was resolved to make something extraordinary. Its awesome to see designers as you doing extraordinary things for the eco framework also @exyle with things like Steemify and Blockbrothers. - Lets take Steemit and Steem to the following level in 2018!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dajohns1420 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 5.34 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @dajohns1420.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25