You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm Buying Litecoin - LTC - Today - Even at 47 bucks a pop.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Do you see any future for litecoin if segwit is activated on Bitcoin? To my knowledge the only real difference between the two is that LTC has segwit while BTC does not. So my current thinking is that if BTC enables segwit LTC is essentially useless since BTC has much more brand recognition and trust than LTC.

Sort:  

That's a great question, and I'm not a Segwit expert...

I look at LTC as a hedge. I can't imagine all three Coinbase coins will move in lockstep forever - though ETH and BTC seemed to move for the past couple months in a pretty similar pattern.

BTC activating Segwit would not necessarily be a bad thing for LTC; there's a name recognition pattern there, but I honestly think people will be looking for a coin that could become "the next BTC." Or the next ETH. And so on.

As always, your investment could go to zero - so that remains a possibility, too.

Makes perfect sense as a hedge. And all kinds of exchanges seem to be adding LTC lately.

Thanks for the reply! I never considered LTC as a hedge. I remember when I first got into crypto about a month ago I was looking for "the next BTC" and ironically I ended up buying a small amount of LTC because of it so you are definitely right in that aspect!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59128.17
ETH 2522.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48