You now can own your own Picasso..kind of.

in #crypto7 years ago

Art! Who doesn't love at least some art?
I have to confess I'm one of those insufferable people that will only visit museums in foreign cities and ignore my local ones. I also will only visit only if I know some big artist are there. Ok, enough about me let's talk about how you can buy a Picasso, on the blockchain.

As many good stories these days, it begins with an ICO...

MAECENAS

So here's the idea:

Someone is selling a masterpiece. Normally, he would go to Christie's and auction it and get the money - 20% fee. I had no clue the fees are so high but anyway, a person, museum or institution will buy it and do whatever they want with it.

OR

They can list it on Maecenas and sell it there to everyone! For no fees at all [ 2%?]. What happens is that people auction using their cryptocoins for a small part of the whole. in a way it's like buying stock, a small part of the whole picture.
Each art sell will be on the ledger and create a new coin [ PICS, DAL ?] that people who auctioned will get in the ration to their contribution.

Then there will be a marketplace for people to buy and sell their sharecoins. Also, if Maecenas decides to loan the art piece to a museum for a fee, the fee gets distributed to all owners. Also when it finally sells they get their fair share too.

So that's the big idea, everyone can own a part and trade that part and be cool and impress people in bars.
"I own a Warhol.."
OMG YOU RICH WHERE?
"On the blockchain..and it's like 1% of one"

I dunno, i think it is even cooler than owning the real thing to me. The problem is that no one actually see is it and feels, my understanding is that it will stay at MAecenas until it sells or smth. Oh well, you're part of the future anyway, man!

This is not a Shill but just a cool idea, no clue if it will actually work but truth be told I first heard of this idea in a Gibson book and that guy can totally see the future so it's probably good.

Sort:  

Hey I'm happy I found your post. It is excellent!
Unfortunately I don't have enough voting power for the moment but I have followed your blog and I will come back for the next posts.
If you like reading about movies check out my profile @moviemeter I make posts about films there.
Perhaps you can follow me back so we can help each other grow. Bye!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22