You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LIVING IN WORLD OF MISINFORMATION AND DISTRUST - is it indeed our future? Please join discussion.

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

I find this text intriguing. This is the current situation my country as as we speak, politicians have been circumventing around the process of scoring cheap political point.

Creating fake motion pictures in the form of videos in a bid to launder the voice and images of their rivals.

My question is, can we ever detect whats real or fake. with A.I coming into the picture the level of deception might become massive

Sort:  

Trust in our personal beliefs aid our perception. While some beliefs can be shaped, e.g. an environmental stimulus that adds a temporary energy to our physiology, it is the core values that a book is more likely to shape than a morning headline.

Consider how TV made morning headlines with a cup of coffee the standard for the nuclear family between 1950 to 1980. The Internet is still subject to morning headlines. Why? We do not need to wait for ABC, CBS, FOX, CNN, or BBC to edit a story and fit a time slot. Yet this is how the world continues to turn. It did not turn this way before TV. Sure it is changing, but way to slow. When there is no urgent reason to slow us down, it is probably fake.

Alas.. I could rant on. Simply, I see the clarity in your words of query.

Trust in your personal believe system you said

waooooo........ that is really a hard thing to do now when what you believe in is subject to change based on what we see

That is why I threw in the book vs. news briefing analogy. Back in the 80s, long before the Internet, the word 'twit' was a derogatory term for someone who spent too much time watching tv. Now it is thrown around in daily conversation with the Office of the Presidency.

Pre-Internet, we walked to our local libraries for information. Today, reading is more common than tv, so I can see how the usage can change. However, I learned in obtaining a degree in aviation the importance of writing as a method for organized communication. A book, presents an opportunity to exchange life altering events of the mind. That is the kind of trust in oneself to which I referred.

Consider how TV made morning headlines with a cup of coffee the standard for the nuclear family between 1950 to 1980.

I actually have no clue how things were in states around that time. I guess Im still to young and to east european.

ps.
Do you think that world is changing to slow?

Thank you again for being so supportive.

The global information system is "finally" changing. College taught us how the Internet would change society. Years ago, innovators in the tech space let their exasperation known that the change was occurring too slowly. My example of how we obtain our news is uncommon. The example typically used is telecommuting replacing 9 to 5 workdays (although that would technically be owed more to the computer itself).

Im glad to hear that you found this text intriguing @maxiemoses-eu. Thx for sharing your thoughts.

I hope that one day i can disconnect myself from entire world and live my life far from it.

Can you imagine that right now AI could already create 'fake' video of your favourite influencer in which he would make some fake statements, which could affect your financial decisions.

Yours
Piotr

I wish you can disconnect from this, most likely I and many others might join you to that secure Island

previosly fake news use to be a social media thing but with A.I in the business of fake stunts when it comes to news then we are ready for a prime-time with this eventuality

@crypto.piotr imagine you switch on your tv one day and you see yourself saying something you are never aware of.... you get pushed to the point where you doubt your existence

this been facilitated by A.I been able to critically study your voice, your looks and your facial expression

who would believe when you tell the consumers of such content that looks are deceiving mankind

hi @maxiemoses-eu

I wish you can disconnect from this, most likely I and many others might join you to that secure Island

Im luckily already half-disconnected. 3 years ago I got rid of my cellphone so right now Im only online once Im on my laptop. Very refreshing feeling to be able to disconnect yourself 100% from internet.

imagine you switch on your tv one day and you see yourself saying something you are never aware of.... you get pushed to the point where you doubt your existence

that would be a killer.

who would believe when you tell the consumers of such content that looks are deceiving mankind

Some people mentioned that we need to develop solutions that will allow us to distinguish fake audio/video from real one.
That's a great business opportunity for those who can provide such a solutions. Dont you think?

Yours
Piotr

Some people mentioned that we need to develop solutions that will allow us to distinguish fake audio/video from real one.
That's a great business opportunity for those who can provide such a solutions. Dont you think?>

I wish to agree it might turn out to be a good piece of opportunity to dive into

but first off there might be a lot disagreement on weather the solution is actually real
............or a means to clear the names of those whose personalities have been laundered

Imagine where an AI protocol does the impersonation you can imagine the accuracy that comes with the facial expression and the voice intonation.

@crypto.piotr as much as I agree with the opportunity I think it might cause a divide on whats real and why you say something real to me is considered fake

because you developed a protocol that I am yet unused to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75