Funds Locked Up in Bittrex. No word from customer service for almost a month now.

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-12-01 at 2.32.07.png
Wow. The next generation must really fucking suck. I wonder if the Feds have gotten to these guys or something.

I've been struggling to get in contact with anyone over at Bittrex for almost a month now. I came across this post by @leprechaun today and thought I should probably sound my warning bells as well.


Here's the story:

***

I decided to use the exchange to do a little crypto trading, unaware of their recently imposed restrictions on withdrawals. After I had made my trade on the exchange, I attempted to withdraw my shiny new crypto tokens to their new wallet home on my computer.

I was promptly notified that withdrawal was no longer possible for guest accounts, and that I would need to upgrade to a basic account to make the transaction. Okay. Sure. Fair enough. I went to the verification page, typed in the basic info requested, only to be told by the automated verification system that my name "could not be found in the public record," or something to that effect.

Alright. No need to fear. It's telling me to upgrade to an advanced verification account in order to remedy this. No worries. Let's try that.

Now, at this point, I actually wasn't very relaxed or happy. I despise having to upload my image and/or personal documents to websites like Bittrex. I value privacy in my trading, and this wasn't exactly my idea of private and/or decentralized interaction.

Long story short, even after going through all that, the system tells me that my name doesn't match the name on my passport, whatever that means. My name was not misspelled. The only difference may have been that my passport includes my middle name, and I am not sure if the site had asked for that or not, in the name entry field. Regardless, once this message was displayed, letting me know that MY NAME DOES NOT MATCH MY NAME (don't you love computers?), there was nothing else I could do. There is no way to try again.

***


Another Steemian who experience the same exact automated inanity.



I was directed by the automated system to contact customer support. I did that. I've since been waiting over 20 days to hear back from them.

no_money_by_fsmgordon-d4tcci4.gif

The takeaway? Watch out, and don't put anything into Bittrex you aren't willing to indefinitely part with if you are not already a verified user.

Interested to see how @leprechaun's call for a class-action lawsuit turns out. Who knows, maybe the Fed has got the fist bearing down in Bittrex the same way it does Coinbase now.

One thing about crypto. Nothing is guaranteed. Ever. There sure is a hell of a lot of opportunity here, though ;)

~KafkA


EDIT: Just today I have gotten word back from Bittrex and my account has been verified. I did not initially want to submit documents for advanced verification, but alas, that is the route I had to take to regain access to my coins. I'm happy to have finally gotten a response, but if you are looking to make a quick exchange as a basic account on this platform, beware. You may be stuck waiting for a month in limbo, as I was.

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

@kafkanarchy, this happened to me too the other day!!

I was so frustrated with this BS as if the policy changed then why allow deposits to be made in the first place?
I have some funds frozen now as well and I'm not comfortable supplying the 'advanced level' verification, especially since I'm anon on this platform.

I've also made several inquiries and I'm only redirected to the 'advanced verification' page and then it states that my ticket/issue has been 'solved', far from it.

Ah got you too, huh? Yeah man. Totally frustrating.

There should definitely be a warning about the inability to withdraw. It’s damn near how a scam functions.

I feel all state-y and dirty because I already uploaded my passport and picture of myself, only to be rejected again. Need a shower.

Lemme know if you make any progress. I hate this verification shit. At least let me know clearly I will need to do it before holding my funds.

I guess in a court they would say I didn’t read the agreement. It’s scammy as all get out, with the automated verfication system.

Such events will further the advancement if the crowds toward fully decentralized platforms such as Bitshares and Steemit.

Sorry to hear about your tribulations... Keep taking good care, namaste

That's a good Comments @eric-boucher 👋👋

Everyone needs to start using decentralized exchanges where you have control of your wallets private keys

I agree, but most of the decentralized exchanges don't have as much volume, plus there are no decentralized exchanges with very liquid fiat pairs!

Agreed.

I got lucky because I withdrew all my coins just two weeks ago.

Sons of Bitches!
I don't trust any of the exchanges anymore. I know you have to but prefer to stay anonymous. I opened a Bittrex account ages ago but never used them luckily.
What's this 'guest account' shit?
I assume they let you trade anonymously but you can only get your money back if you fess up who you are, what a farce.
I'm sure criminal governments will get involved in regulating these exchanges very shortly at a cost to the buyer. Makes you wonder if they're involved in the scam! Feels a bit hegelian dialectic to me.

I have come to realise that everything in cryptoworld is dodgy. Kraken screwed me over (software flaw) and I can’t get any recourse. A bitcoin tracker refuses to share the bitcoin gold - (as is their legal right). You can’t do anything. It’s like the wild west. No rules, no laws. The only safe way to play is to buy and put it in cold storage. That way at least you get the forks and they can’t steal your coins.

It’s like the wild west. No rules, no laws.

It is. Which is also why I love it. It's funny, though. Here I am using Kraken with relative ease (even though the site itself is blinky as hell sometimes), and others are getting shafted by the site. Got a lot of folks saying they've had no issues with Bittrex while here I am in this predicament. I think you are right. Cold storage is always the best bet.

FK! I'd like to keep all of my stuff on Lesger but trading calls for moving funds all the time and bittrex is what I use the most. I can't wait till we all jump ship and start using DEXs.

Yeah man. I can't wait either.

I had the same problem and had to give the fuckers all my passport details to get my cryptos out. Luckily it worked, but I don't use them anymore.

Except for some very small amounts of Ripple and NEM that I can't store on Exodus. Any ideas of good wallets for them?

Thanks for spreading the info. Everybody should be made aware of the scams out there and the risk of xchanges

Upvoted and rEsteemed. Your's is the second post today for this Bittrex Issue, which I too have been troubled with for weeks now.

I can put money IN... but can't take it out...
Send in the Feds!

Hahah. No. Fuck the Feds! (they're the worst) and give me my coins!

Amen!

Don't know what I was thinking LOL!

bittrex is a shit((( blocked me 1 month ago and didn't answers until now

They answered you? Did you get your money out?

no. no. i tried create another ticket and they told it was a bad idea... now i just wait...

Same here. Sorry to hear that man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58925.39
ETH 2498.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48