Uber Co-Founder Garett Camp Just Launched His Own CryptoCurrency, Called ECO

in #crypto6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 10.38.31 PM.png


There's no doubt Uber has been at the forefront of the news for the last couple of years, and there were some strong reasons for that (both good and bad): from disrupting the transportation business up to questionable management approaches.

And there we go again, this time just asymptotically touching the brand: one of its co-founders, Garett Camp, just launched his own token, called ECO. Yes, the domain name is really eco.com which says a lot about the amount of money already invested in this thing.

As far as I can understand from the website, there will be no ICO, but there will be an airdrop. Meaning half of the one trillion tokens that will be issued will be distributed to the first billion of registered (and verified) users. 20% will go to the universities running trusted nodes, 10% will go to advisors, 10% will go to strategic partners, and 10% will go to a newly formed Eco Foundation which will be responsible for creating and maintaining the network.

Camp - and some other partners - will "seed" the foundation with $10 million.

I didn't read the white paper, so I can't give an informed opinion about the nature of this token, but it will make for an interesting lecture during this weekend. I just wanted to give the news first, and also give you the chance to sign up. Who knows, maybe the first billion spots will be taken by tomorrow.

Joke aside, I will be coming back with another, more detailed article, if there will be enough material from the white paper. In other words, if this token will really solve a problem, and not just try to piggy-back the hype.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

Maybe he should implement with SMT :D or maybe they should accept crypto for Uber . I’d use it all the time

Hi.

half of the one trillion tokens that will be issued will be distributed to the first billion of registered (and verified) users.

Do you have a direct link through which one can partake of this? This opportunity must nitvpass mecby.

Thanks for the information

It's in the post.

Thanks. I did not notice the link before. Got it now!

Success loves speed, you know?

Thanks @dragosroua for sharing about ECO, just signed up to collect the airdrop...

Hi
I am sure boss. If you luanch your own coin called DRAGCOIN ... IT WILL GET FULL SUPPORT FROM STEEM MEMBERS...
I am not joking.
Think of it
I will be the first one to support you and helping you.
😚

THANK YOU FOR YOUR USUAL SUPPORT

This is really great news, when we have big shots at the forefront of crypto currencies it means we are going the right way and not just that, i believe we are going towards the only way in the long run

Was having a discussion with my brother about the decentralizing of currency itself, just today. It may be heading towards personalized tokens in a trust rating system something like eBay.

Interesting, I'll be reading up on their website and then i'll sign up! They don't need to run an ICO thanks to the big name behind it for sure, just with "co-founder of Uber" you probably get people throwing money at you for any project you want.

Are you f**king kidding me???? These are just the kinda good news I wana be hearing everyday about crypto...thanks a lot @stephenkendal for bringing this news to us.

Name's @dragosroua, but I like how you think... :)))))

It is just copy paste from another comment. Please forgive him

Lolz actually it wasn't copy and paste...why would I do that? I actually was feeling really sleepy but wanted to comment before I sleep off and this was the outcome...I am so laughing at myself right now.hehehe

Lolz sorry @dragosrous had sleep in my eyes when I was making that comment...actually I just finished commenting on @stephenkendals post before I saw urs and that's why I mixed it up.

The very important information I really like my blog will resteem your information to my blog

THANK YOU FOR YOUR USUAL SUPPORT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16