An Uncommon Find

in #cricket6 years ago

IMG_0189.jpg

In a secret area of one of my local parks, I turned over a large rock and lots of insects sprang out! I knew they were crickets but upon closer inspection, it turned out they were from the orthopteran family Rhaphidophoridae.
These types of crickets are characterized by their long antennae, long hind legs, and wingless humped-backs. For this last reason, they are usually called camel crickets. The true Camel Cricket lives in arid desserts but this is still a cave-type cricket, where they are commonly found as well as in old mines and animal burrows. Living in dark environments, or being active only at night, they use their long limbs and appendages to feel their surroundings.
Something I'd like to know about these crickets is how they look for mates. Conventional male crickets rub veins on their wings together which produces their "singing" which attracts females. Camelback crickets, however, have no wings. Perhaps the way mates find one another is different. This is something interesting I want to look into.
Of course, I did not hurt the little cricket and he actually stayed very still while I held him. If you're used to picking up bugs like me, you probably know that most common crickets (and grasshoppers as well) will try to kick their way out of your grasp using their free jumping leg if you hold them by the other leg as I am in the picture. I released him and he hopped away, happily ever after...
Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

We have those all over by my home!!!!

Oh I hope they're not invasive
I read that some species is not native to here
But interesting nonetheless!
At our house in Mexico, the pale house crickets are extremely common however I never see them here in the U.S.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37