paper mache craft - kids rooms decor - sweet bunny :)

in #creativity7 years ago

IMG_4773.jpg
A good friend of mine invited me to a paper mache workshop a few weeks ago. We had a blast and though I remember paper mache from when I was a child - I never really understood how easily you can create sculptures with paper mache. The basic technique I didn't know ( and learned in that workshop) is that you create a base for your sculpture made from newspapers (dry paper rolled into very tight balls) and then you cover it with paper mache.
in the workshop I made this sweet little sheep

IMG_3391.jpg

We really enjoyed it and so we had a go at home. I decided to make my son bunnies for his room and this little fellow was the first one.
I started by making the body from those tight newspaper balls. we use masking tape to attach it all together and make sure the structure it strong.
IMG_4119.jpg
yes, I know, he looks a bit creepy without hands :/

IMG_4120.jpg
Much better :)

for the ears I took some simple wire, shaped it and covered with masking tape.

after this came a layer of paper mache, which I choose to keep rather rough so that the bunny will have a bit of a fluffy look.

IMG_4130.jpg

covered it with white acrylic paint and then a coat of acrylic varnish.
IMG_4302.jpg

as a finishing touch I added the little bow tie :)

now the little one decorates my sons' room along side another bunny I made and the sheep :)

IMG_4775.jpg

what do you think? any favourite craft?

If you enjoy crafts and want to decorate your kids room you might like this Ikea hack:
https://steemit.com/creativity/@tully/ikea-hack-easily-customise-your-kids-table-and-chairs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63606.08
ETH 2603.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83