"THE EYES OF THE UNIVERSE" A Crypto Logo Art Challenge, Ethereum Edition: Surrealism!

in #creativecrypto6 years ago

Some days ago I read about a very interesting Art Challenge here on the Interweb. I was both, enthusiastic because I wanted to give it a try and scared because I did not wanted to start something I might not finish. If you have read me before you'll know I am a procrastinator, a very good one. In fact I made an entry long time ago about my "artistic" process, can give it a view if you want here

However it seems I decided to participate, did not I?

Funny because early that day I was watching a documentary about a great crazy artist, in the best way ever of course, Yayoi Kusuma

Yayoi-GettyImages-142104776.jpg

Yet another japanese I like.

The documentary shown pretty much the most outstanding Miss Yayoi's pieces of art, as they always do, but there was one... a simple one that caught my attention right away. Seeking the Soul, 2012 , a really deep title for a really abstract art. Immediatly my mind started to work with that concept "Seeking the Soul"how cool that sounds!— I said.

Hours later, one thing took to the other and like so... till I had a complete concept. With that been said, and if you are still here with me, check out the the design process below.

yayoi-kusama-seeking-soul-2012_800.jpg

THE EYES OF THE UNIVERSE - DESIGN PROCESS

As I mentioned before, "Seeking the Soul" basically was the main inspiration but... Have you ever heard, "The Universe's watching you"? Not need to mention that Ethereum's logo looks like an alien ship, here lies great part of the concept too. Also reminds me the word Ethereal which sounds pretty much like Universe stuff too. Nevermind, I am divagating.

Like the title of this entry suggest, I worked with Surrealism for the develop of this logo.

DQmcvfp27DoAXew3oEgbufVXdgHt7euBmwwQtkioXNCobLo_1680x8400.png

To make a quick summary of the meaning of this "art" these entities represent the cyclic cycle of life and death.

S3.jpg

Where at the beginning there is only chaos, the only red dots entity, that after Seeking its soul finds out the power of self-ilummination however continues with all these chaos inside and later learns to controll its fear and keeps finding the thruth, so more eyes start to open.

S4.jpg

Finally, gives birth to a different kind of entity, one made from chaos and stellar dust and with all its eyes finally opened, starts watch out the Universe.

Represented in this case as the "alien ship" Ethereum Logo :p

S5.jpg

I wanted to give the center object a different kind of style so it can stand out, I added a bit of transparency.

S6.jpg

Continuing with the previous idea I gave it a bit of glowness.

S7.jpg

A bit of shading to create depth.

S8.jpg

So, this is it! The final result. Those "waves" you see as shadows flowing constantly represent the "sound" these entities create, always moving, nurturing the Universe, the Ethereum logo.

EYES OF THE UNIVERSE.jpg

Overall I enjoyed making this thing, I am sure this is not what they are looking for because it is not a logo. Everyone of us have a different languages, a different way to see and interpretate art... but that's the magic of art, it is all about self-interpretation and at the end of the day we all speak this language too.

I.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01