Inktober two in one, Swing and Pattern

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I am happy as ever to be drawing so much, thank you Inktober! I have to stretch my body more after all the fitness classes I teach but then again, it can wait till November!

The weather is so crazy in North America right now, people here in Vancouver talk about a record breaking cold but they have no idea what is going on. Then again, no one talks about it so I can’t blame them. Good luck Californians with the blackout!!!
Climate change is no joke!

IMG_20191011_00592901.jpeg

For today’s drawing, I simply cleaned up a quick 5 minute sketch for swing. I made sure there were plenty of prints to incorporate pattern.

Another time Zentangle! I will be baaaaack!

IMG_20191011_010051.jpg

I love the energy in a quirky rough sketch, it is sometimes worth revisiting. After working with references for a while, it’s nice to see the knowledge poor out of your head like that. I am deeply inspired by old school cartoon from the 40s and 50s. I used to watch Popeye, Tom and Jerry and many others.

I find it hard to capture the raw essence of a rough drawing sometimes, do you know what I mean?

The swinging pose is inspired by square dancing which is very important where I am from in Quebec. Swing la bacaisse dans le fond d’la boite a bois something we often say to reference the energy of folk music.

The original meaning is to empty a tarp full of wood in the pile and means take a load off and come party. It was featured in a famous song by Mononc’ Serge.

IMG_20191011_012133.jpg

Today I asked my kids to pose for each other in small groups so they learn the importance of drawing characters interacting in their comics and illustrations. It is something I wish I had done at that age. They were extremely well behaved today, so much so that it is making me emotional. There are 11 kids enrolled, it’s a full hose so to have them focussed like that is really exceptional.

Thank you for dropping by, may you be inspired in this premature winter.

208FD6E058494CBB91BD4F9DF1425308.jpeg

Sort:  

Great piece. I can definitely see the "swing" in your drawing.

@tipu curate

Congratulations @edouard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @scrawly.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16