Been Doing A Little Winter Riding.

in #ulog6 years ago

The weather has been absolutely miserable in Buffalo NY. Cold sub zero temperatures and snow. I haven't been doing as much riding as I usually do. I caught a cold just before Christmas and it took me a bit to shake it. Then when I finally felt like getting back to riding the really miserable weather returned.

So we got a really nasty storm the other day, which made say to myself, "OK, lets have some fun on the dual sport! I'm sick of staring at it in the garage!"

As the storm approached and the snow started falling I went and ran some errands on the dual sport.

winter_selfie.jpg

That's me and I think it was like 6 degrees out. I was really cold in that picture. I ran to the deli and grabbed some cold cuts and decided to stop at the park for this selfie.

Here's a picture of the bike from the same location.

storm-b4.jpg

Riding in the snow is a lot like riding a real wet, sloppy, muddy track, just without all the dirt. I actually enjoy riding in the snow. My biggest concern is other drivers, so I tend to stay on the side streets and drive a lot slower than usual.

So the storm actually just brushed us the first night. I woke up the following day and pulled the bike out of the garage to get the snowblower out. We didn't get a lot of snow, but I'm really happy I had the snowblower. Unfortunately it only lasted two more times before it died on me again! God I hate that snowblower!

littlemore.jpg

The big storm finally arrived and fortunately the snow blower worked one last time. Should consider myself lucky because we got a lot of snow. In the middle of the storm I decide to take a ride to the gas station just to see what it's like outside. I parked it in a snowbank as I ran into the store.

snowbank.jpg

The battery was dead from the frigid cold so I had to kickstart. Took about 15 tries in the frigid temperatures but she kicked over. I was really happy the bike has a kick starter.

And here we are the day after the storm safe and warm in my car. I went and grabbed some takeout for the family and accessed the damage in the neighborhood. Nothing major besides snow piled up everywhere and cars stuck in snowbanks.

next-day.jpg

Well, hope you're all warm and dry. Cheers from Buffalo NY! Steem on everyone!

Sort:  

Nice you are able to manoeuvre the dual sport in all the snow.
Lots of snow here on PEI this time of year but we had a few warm days ..January thaw, I guess.

I can't wait till we start thawing. We've had a fairly easy winter up till the last week or so. Still getting tired of it! Got my fingers crossed for an early spring.

Nw indiana is pretty miserable right now as well with temperatures hovering in the single digits expecting to get colder into next week. Heres to warm thoughts and to a quick return to spring/summer.

I think close to half the country is dealing with miserable weather right now. We've got another storm rolling in as I write this. Positive thoughts for an early spring for sure.

@the-bitcoin-dood, I've never experienced snow in my life so, it's good to see but people who actually face it, specially who face heavy snow their life is difficult for sure. Stay blessed.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I grew up with it so it's just another day to me. It gets tiresome around this time of year thought. I think most people around here are just looking forward to spring and warmer weather:)

Have a blessed time ahead. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45