The State of Steem By the Numbers - User Activity Rising! - [steem] [blockchain]

in #steem5 years ago

steemusers.jpg

Even before the Crypto-Market began heating up, Steem User activity was showing signs of increasing as early as mid-February. Thanks to @penguinpablo from providing the charts and data that I then use to try to get an idea of the State of Steem. Using the Steem Posts Chart and tracking the Higher Lows of Daily Posts (which includes comments), we clearly see a slow rise in posting activity by Steemians. This show that even on slower activity days the general trend of Steem user activity is still on the uprise.

steemtrans.jpg

The next chart shows active Steem user accounts that transacted on the Steem blockchain. This means that watching a video or reading a post does not count for this data. The user has to have made some sort of action that led to the Steem Blockchain logging that action, be it a vote, comment, Power up, account creation etc etc. This chart actually shows Steem overall interaction to have started a slight increase very late last year 2018. Then the trend shows that since Mid-February Steem activity was rising and gaining momentum.

steemcomments.jpg

The set of data is interesting because it could provide a little more information to the 75/25 vs. 50/50 debate over Steem Post payout. I believe there are some that feel that Steemians that Up Vote posts should be receiving an equal share of the reward, where as right now, the author of the Steem Posts receives 75% of the Reward, and the Up Voters have to divide the the remaining 25% of the Reward. To me, this chart and data shows that currently, Steem Users are happier Voting and Commenting, and the Data shows a huge rise in this activity, rather than creating the Posts, which shows that Steem Post creating is going sideways by the Purple line. The orange line tracks the Higher Lows of Steem Posts, which ultimately meets again with the Purple line. At first I thought sharing the Post rewards equally might incentivize more Steem account creation and activity, growing the overall user base. But after seeing this chart, I wonder if doing so would slow down some of the current Steemians that consistently post Videos, pictures, and articles here on Steemit and all the Steem dAPPs due to lower Rewards for them as Content Creators. Maybe with this recent up trend in Steem price and overall Market sentiment, more Steem Posts are created, giving Steemians more to comment on, which Steemians seem to love to do by looking at this chart because it is on a steep up trend.

SteemPower.jpg

The next set of data is my favorite because it concerns Steem Power Up vs. Steem Power Downs. As I have been recently saying about this struggle, the tide was about to turn. Steem Power Downs were definitely beating overall Steem Power ups, but a huge Power Down that had been happening for 13 Weeks is now over. So far no other large account seems to be powering down, and now it seems that Power Ups vs. Power Downs will be more evenly matched, as you can see by the data below. The data in the White Box shows that Power Ups are more evenly matched to Power Downs, and I think that for now, as long as no other Large Whale starts a Power Down they will remain more closely matched.
STPdata.jpg

In fact this data makes me think June 1st would be great for another SPUD event, SPUD #2. Now that the 13 Week Power Down from that large Whale is over, and overall Steem User Activity is up and increasing, a second SPUD event just might really impact the Steem Power Up vs. Steem Power Down battle.

Let me know what you all think about a second SPUD event in your comments below. We Still have Time to make a go of it!

+++ @streetstyle

Sources:
Charts and Numbers from @penguinpablo

Silly colored lines and boxes by Me.

Sort:  

I think we should go for SPUD2 event

Posted using Partiko Android

I believe @chesatochi said the same thing, to have another #SPUD event every month. I am still not sure about that but seeing this recent change in Steem Power Ups vs. Steem Power Downs makes me think the time to pounce is now @mrme1984 #spud2

I think that every month is too much and it's should be every quarter maybe.
You want to keep it something special so that shouldn't be so often to my opinion

Posted using Partiko Android

Those were my sentiments exactly right after the first #SPUD event, but there are many who did mention having a SPUD event every month, and some have stated support for one real soon.... so it is still in there air.
Only reason I am considering #SPUD2 is because right now there is No Large Power Down like there was on the first Spud event. Now Steem Power Ups versus Steem Power Downs are more closely matched, and a SPUD event could be more impactful this go around, plus the market is heated so it could be one of those "act now" moments.

What do you think @mrme1984

I think that now you can "ride" on the very good price STEEM have VS Bitcoin

But in general my opinion is not do it more often so it's will stay special

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post. Nice observations. I think STEEM in general is doing OK. Not great, but OK and getting better. I certainly think it is doing better than it appears to most.

As for rewards, I don't think mucking around with them will have much effect over the long run. I don't think going to 50/50 will hurt much, but I also don't think it will help much.

As for another #SPUD, I say yes. Anything to encourage users to put #skininthegame is fine by me :-) It certainly works better than the meager efforts I have done so far :-0 There is some danger of reduced effectiveness if done too often, but I don't think once a month is too often.

Thanks @steemstreems I too think Steem is doing well for being a younger blockchain and social media site. I also think that the Steem dAPPs are doing great and getting better, help overall.

I too agree on leaving rewards as is, but do fear that right now would be a bad time to cut rewards for authors seeing that author activity is not increasing as much as other user activity.

And I too agree that diluting the message of #SPUD can happen if done too often, but being that it was the first one, with a more closer Power Up to Power Down ratio, increasing user activity and accounts, June 1st might be a good moment to pounce.

What say you @steemstreems ?

Greta info here good to see the ratio of power us to power downs equalizing again and overall activity steadily climbing

I think SPUD2 on June 1 is a brilliant idea, I know many are watching for the announcement onthat day for the other blockchain, lets make a point on that day to powe r up and make our own point on the strength of Steemit
I was going to power up sometoday but I will wait for SPUD2 to do so :)

Hello @tattoodjay Thanks for that tidbit of "intel" as I had not paid attention to that. And yes, I think you are right, we are going to have to #SPUD2 in order to stand strong.

I am having a SPUD day on June 1st anyway my little token of support for Steem :)

Excellent, I am building up ready for it even selling off some steemmonster cards I seldom use to have more to power up :)

Steemians must be encouraged to hold steem because it is for evveryone's benefit in the longterm which is just a few years from now @streetstyle :D

I agree that for those can afford to hold Steem and especially Steem Power, it is probably best to hold for at least another year or two, while the crypto-market matures. Steem is a young blockchain, and Bitcoin is just now starting to find some maturity and stability. Steem will follow, so long as we remain strong. Thanks for all your efforts on here @cryptopie , take care, hope you are doing good and resting. As always, your friend @streetstyle

I do struggle at times to find things worthy of my vote. There's a lot of small substance posts floating about despite the increased posting stats you are showing us.

When I first started I too was a bit more "selective" with my up votes, but with time I realized that we are not all Hemingways or Ansel Adams, and yet still those users do need our support because they are trying.

I also use to support more of the trending articles, which I still do but not because they have pay out but because they bring something that I find interesting or supportive of the Steem Network. I no longer up vote those posts just because they are popular or are making a good reward.

I also have trended away from supporting those that already have plenty of support on here by other Steemians. Don't get me wrong, I will still up vote a meaningful contribution regardless of reward or ranking, but I am now more into supporting the up and coming Steemians. The Steemian that post regular pictures or articles about daily life BUT that ultimately need STEEM REWARDS for daily necessities.

I also like supporting those that support others here on Steem.

Anyhow, I think things are trending up overall! Full Steem Ahead!

and thanks for the comments and support @slobberchops

I also use to support more of the trending articles

I haven't looked at Trending in months, does anyone beside newbies?

yet still those users do need our support because they are trying.

I'm with you there, it doesn't have to be necessarily quality, but 50 words something takes the piss.

now more into supporting the up and coming Steemians.

I do too, but can only take on so many. I add them to my @chops.support passive voter if I find any real good ones.

I think trending is important to glance at because sometimes that is where you will find major news or events or updates.... but some I just don't get. I mean that are good articles but some seem to be there constantly, no matter what.
And yes, you can only support so many, and it seems you are doing a great job, especially with a voter bot to support.

Keep doing your thing @slobberchops

oh, and what do you think about having a second #SPUD event, #SPUD2 ?

oh, and what do you think about having a second #SPUD event, #SPUD2 ?

A few were somewhat negative about SPUD, whereas I thought it was but of fun and community building. I think its a decent idea.

I think I only received one negative comment from a newer user who thought it was a scam, too funny.

What I really liked about the event was the community building, in fact I was actually amazed out how many Steemians actually came out and supported it. For me it truly was amazing because at first the response was ok, then it got a little better, and then with one week left it got slightly more support, but then it just starting snowballing. By the time there was 1 or 2 days left this thing had avalanched and the SPUD hashtag even made it to the Most Popular list. I couldn't believe it.

The community support was so inspiring that it really re-energized my efforts here, and now with a heated market, Power Ups now more on par with Power Downs, and more awareness of #SPUD, #SPUD2 might have even more success.

I find your point of view interesting and how your skills have increased in terms of the benefit and help of steem, as well as encouraging new users to create quality content. You were a great help in my beginnings and I thank you for that, as you inspired me to keep creating and not throw in the towel in the middle of the road. Thank you very much, my friend.

Greetings.

You are welcome @nathyortiz and thank you too for your support. I see that you are posting delicious looking recipes. Keep up the good work. The better times are yet to come, now is the time to invest a little more time and receive those benefits later when everyone else will want to get in.
Take care, and ciao!

@streetstyle Thank you friend, my blog is usually divided into recipes, crafts, reflection and experiences. I will continue the struggle in my subjects, but I will be more constant because the time consumes me. Thank you very much.

There are new users that are joining our platform on daily basis, I think a continous campaign and awareness about the benefit of Steem powering-up into our ecosystem. #spud 2 would be a great re-initiation of it. Thanks for these update

Thanks for the re-steem and overall support @funtraveller It does seem that support for a second #spud event is there, so I just might have to start the drive again for #spud2

Excellent point about the author rewards. If they are posting a certain amount and rewards go down, the rate of posts can only decrease from there, at least a small amount anyhow (perhaps in the short term). I'm not sure moving the rewards goal post will have the desired affect long term as the gamers will adjust.

If the STEEM price comparative to BTC looks good, I'd SPUD some more.

I do agree that less rewards for authors will probably lead to less articles by these authors, so for now I think leave the rewards as is, and down the road is authoring Steem posts increases substantially, and the network is stagnant, then maybe we can consider rewards going 50/50, but not now.

And it does seem like there is support for a second coming of #SPUD @joshman We'll see if we can gather enough support.

Buen trabajo amigo, @streetstyle.

Gracias Laura

Yes, I am also agree for #SPUD2 event.

Thanks for your input @hafizullah I think we should too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68545.57
ETH 3900.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71