Down But Far From Out...What Do We Do When We Find Ourselves In THAT Place???

in #life5 years ago (edited)

So this post is little more than a check-in to be honest.

I have been slightly absent over the last week or so...I've popped in to Discord's just to say Hi and show my face more than anything, this helps to stay in the loop with regard to what is happening too. If you do not use Discord yet, I highly recommend using it to keep in touch with blockchain friends and communities and if you haven't joined any of the curation radio shows...You don't know what you're missing.

I've been a little unwell. I had quite an aggressive chest, sinus and ear infection ((Now there's an unholy trinity...)) This led to me feeling incredibly under the weather, you might say, this has let to me feeling a little mentally and emotionally deflated ((I'm not gonna use that other word that sounds so much more...Uhhmmm...Depressing!!!))


Source

Because I felt a bit yucky, I struggled with the motivation for posting even though I also had a few days off from work, meaning I had more time than ever. But not posting, in turn made me feel even more deflated, and I had an overwhelming sense of self-disappointment in letting things slide. Because of this, when I finally did feel capable of posting I just had zero motivation to do so.

An interesting thing occurred to me regarding this though...

Did feeling ill provoke the mental and emotional fatigue, or would that have been bearable had I kept writing and posting? Did I prolong my feeling of bleuugghhh, by not doing so? I feel like Doc Brown from "Back to the future", right now, pondering the question of causality.

I'm sure he would ask if A led to B or B led to A and did the compounding effect of a recurring misery-loop make things far more prolonged than they would otherwise have been? ((I'm sure by now you are wondering if one ? was even close to enough to finish off that thought!


Source

I'm sure you get the gist of this though...Sometimes we can be our own worst enemy, especially when it comes to warding off the mental beasties or trying to combat the abhorrent enemies of productivity: apathy, procrastination, laziness and self-doubt.

Sometimes, jumping out of your chair and just doing that thing that you promised yourself you would is all the tonic you need to start feeling like an achiever again. This by the way is the ultimate slayer of Procrasti-Dragons...

This, as I'm sure you have guessed by now is exactly the reasoning behind the post you are currently reading. My idea was to just throw some words at the page and say; "Yay... I posted!" The fact that the post actually took a direction and went somewhere is but a serendipitous bonus.

I am aware that I have a glut of unread messages in Discord, from some utterly amazing people, everyone of them and of course, everyone of you is/are appreciated and will be responded too in due-course, hopefully this post makes things a little clearer.

Have a fabulous day and an even better weekend to follow. To those who keep an eye out for me, sorry I've not been around quite so much. I shall try harder 😃


Source

This post was cross-posted to Whaleshares and Steemit using the oh-so-fabuloso masdacs crossposting tool.

Sort:  

Hi Steven, thank you for upvoting the latest list of UK steemians.

I have now added you to the list - although I am not sure which region you are in.

We have another UK Steem Virtual Meetup on Thursday, 8pm - 11pm on the MSP Waves Discord. Hope you can come along.

Well this is incredibly spooky as i am about to click post on a largish comment i have been writing for the past 10 minutes...Life does have a way doesn't it?

I currently reside in the hot, balmy, Cold, wet and windy, North of England!

The power of the Gina... 😃

Oh most certainly...I dare not tell my lovely Lady I share my life with, just how important Gina is to me...It would only serve to muddy the waters 😁

Congratulations @stevenwood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67