Some Wind And Sunshine 3.2.2020

in #life4 years ago

IMG_20200302_105058791_HDR.jpg

Well, that will go with the March winds. There was a time in my childhood back in the 60's where I could go to the grocery store and buy a 10 cent kite. It was just a really simple kite and I forgot how much the string cost.

I would put it together and I would have to get some rags and tie them together for a tail. Then I would attach the string through the paper to where the two sticks cross.

Me and my brother would make sure to bow the sticks against the paper so that the bowed paper against the bowed sticks would face the wind.

With wind like I have today would be good enough to fly that kite. I would wait till my mom or dad took us to grandma's field. She had a field about 2 and a half acres at the time.

The kite would fly and we would let out the string to its end. Then we would tie the string to the tall grass. Then we would lay out in the field on our backs and watch how the kite was flying so far away. Well, at least far away to me.

That was pretty good entertainment for a 10 cent kite plus the cost of the string. Of course in those days some of those dimes had silver in them. Well with approximate melt value of a mercury dime, I guess that 10 cent kite would cost one dollar and 20 cents.

They don't sell those simple kites in the grocery store anymore. I decided to look at some kites in Amazon. Some kites are like $5 to $20 for the simple ones and way up for the really fancy ones.

I might be able to make a kite from materials in my house.

Let's end with a scripture, The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit. John 3:8.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67623.71
ETH 3786.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70