Memory, Events That Happened In Time

in #life5 years ago

alarm-clock-3236146_960_720.jpg

So, I write of things that have happened to me long ago. Well I am old, so I can go back into my memory and write of events that happened in my time.

Also, what about things that have happened moment by moment? You see I remember just now that I wanted to boil water to make myself some coffee. Well, I just remembered it and walking into the kitchen, I see the pot is empty as all the water evaporated with the fire still going under it.

I make that mistake more and more. Well, I still wanted some coffee so I filled the pot with water again, but this time I put a 5 minute timer on my cellphone as I don't want to keep on wasting gas.

Plus it is hot and I really don't need to make my kitchen any hotter and pay for it.

Ever thought of this, you were with someone and an event happened and you and that person remembered the event a little different from each other?

Maybe the people with the more correct memory are the ones that journal their events as they go day by day. That way it is written. Someone writing down a daily journal can reinforce memory by that which they wrote down.

Can you imagine being subpoenaed to a court and an attorney asks you, "On Tuesday, the 24th of June 1997 what did you do that day?" Well, if I didn't write it down, I would have to say, "I have no idea what happened on that day."

If you write a daily journal, then you can even use that to refresh your memory of a certain event that may help when called to court and asked about that certain date that you have written about.

So what do you think? Is it easier to think of something that happened to you 10 or 20 years ago or something that happened to you 10 or 20 minutes ago?

I think I would be more comfortable remembering something that happened 10 or 20 years ago than I would remember something I did 10 or 20 minutes ago, well except when I was heating the water and the pot became empty, cause I forgot I was boiling water.

Now I remember that, cause I wrote that in my blog draft earlier. This is why I like writing, I can use it as my free therapy and also as a record of my thoughts at the time.

So memory is like the old style library book card file. Like the memory is somewhere in the library, but the book card file will pinpoint the needed memory in book form.

So what is a good example of the library book card file of your brain? Usually something where there is a strong emotion. That emotion could be the memory marker.

Like saying, I remember we went to the beach that day cause that was the day that we found that little dead shark. Well, I bring that up, cause I was at the beach with some people and I did see a little dead shark and even picked it up. Good thing it wasn't alive or it could have tore a little bite full of my flesh.

Now that I think of it, I must have been crazy to pick it up as it might have been playing dead. Of course, if there is a baby shark at the beach there might be another shark near by.

That reminds me of that movie called, Jaws. When that girl in the beginning got all eaten up. Well I hate watching things like that, but I did buy a Jaws T-shirt for some reason. This was when I was a teenager. I remember the t-shirt cause I have a picture of myself wearing it.

I knew it was when I was in high school, but I didn't remember what year. I just looked it up, the movie Jaws came out on June 20, 1975. Of course it was a summer movie. That makes sense.

I don't watch movies much anymore, well, unless it is a Christian movie.

So a memory may be triggered by a photo or some papers or some other object the brings out an emotion of some kind that would spark a memory. A memory in time.

Let's end with a scripture, Then Jesus said unto them, My time is not yet come: but your time is alway ready. John 7:6.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is from pixabay.com.

Sort:  

Jesus said really very nice and true!!!

Hello @david777111, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much @creativecrypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33