LOOK what I found in the woods today!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

0d037336-3b62-419b-a833-432fda39412a.jpeg


It's always amazing to find this mushroom when wild foraging in a woodland. This is the famous, and so easy to identify- Chicken of the Woods.

Why is it called chicken of the woods? It doesn't look like a chicken. It doesn't cluck like a chicken. It's called that because it tastes like chicken!

chick1.jpg

To prepare, I cut this mushroom into strips, dip the strips into a milk bath and then cover them in breadcrumbs infused with poultry seasoning. Next step- deep fry. When they turn golden brown they're done. Right from the plate, dip the golden brown fillets in blue cheese and then barbecue sauce and you have heaven.

This mushroom is one of easiest wild mushrooms to spot. It stands out from everything in the woods with its fire like color. Best of all, it has no known poisonous look-alikes. And, once you have found it, make a mental note or mark the location on a map. The same tree will produce chicken of the woods for years and years.

chick2.jpg

What are you waiting for? Go catch the chicken of the woods. If you can catch this chicken, you can catch greased lightning!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I love taking pictures of mushrooms (see my profil). But where do you live to find this one? I'm really curious and I might check if I could find this one around.

Look for any dead or dying oak, beech or cherry tree. These species are where I have has the most luck. And, chicken of the woods grows almost everywhere, even in parts of Asia. By the way, I did check out your profile. Awesome. I'm now following you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your answer.🙂
I might try to find it next time.

I also recently found some huge mushrooms in the forest was wondering if they are edible. May have to do some proper research before attempting to eat, lol

Oh ya. Don't eat any wild food you're not 100% sure of. The saying goes- 'There are old mushroom hunters, and there are bold mushroom hunters. There's no old bold mushroom hunters’.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha. will keep that in mind, lol :-)

I found one on a hiking trail and was going to pick it on my way back, but when I returned it was gone. Someone else snagged it. Oh well, now I know better.

The rule is- grab 'em when you find 'em. I learned that lesson early too...

Posted using Partiko Android

WOw how cool thanks for the steem, I used to see that often when I hiked in my area. Never knew that was "hen of the woods"!

This one is the chicken of the woods, also known as sulfer shelf. Hen of the woods, or maitake, is much different. I know. Mushroom hunting can get confusing..lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Ty for the clarification I am sure I will screw this up again lol

Brother's excellent post, always brother's success

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59013.49
ETH 2516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48