If Money Were No Option...

in #life5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: If Money Were No Option...


How would you spend your TIME..?


Untitled.png

My volunteer profile at DigiVol


This is a question that spurred me into my current situation of working from home, for myself instead of spending my days accumulating wealth for a faceless corporation (and essentially, the government).

Now I know, I've got a long way to go before I'm growing my own food and living off-grid, but I have learnt a very valuable lesson about my own work ethics - especially, when it comes down to how much of my soul I'm willing to give (or not give, as the case may be) however, I think I may have found a couple of interesting projects that are worth my effort.

In yesterday's post, you might remember that my source information was found at The Atlas of Living Australia and since joining the site in December 2018, I've submitted two wildlife 'sightings' and photos to my profile, as shown in the screenshot below; you may even recognise the photos.


screenshot_ala.jpg

ALA provide free, online access to millions of occurrence records to form the most comprehensive and accessible data set on Australia’s biodiversity ever produced. Their mission is to digitise Australia’s biodiversity knowledge, promoting excellence and enabling collaboration in biodiversity research.


Anyhoo, they also have a portal called DigiVol where you can volunteer to complete tasks to either, capture data from specimen and object labels, transcribe text and capture data from historical documents or view photos to identify and tag images of animals.

Below is a screenshot of a recent project that I contributed to, called SUPERB PARROTS IN THE ACT – breeding success and hollow competition


superbParrots.png

DigiVol is a crowdsourcing platform that was developed by the Australian Museum in collaboration with the Atlas of Living Australia as a way of combining the efforts of many volunteers to digitise their data.


So, as I was looking at wildlife photos and counting Crimson Rosellas, a familiar question slowly creeped into my mind...

If money were no object, what would you be doing?

AND I thought, 'well, dang it... I think I might be (almost) doing it...!'

=^.^=

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!


Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

Make your own steemitboard footer with this post by @arcange

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38