On the Bench Today - Fiber Reactive Dying Day 1

in #crafting6 years ago (edited)

Well, on the sink actually...but dying silks is what I am up to here ;) It is a good trade skill to have, and when I can I will make some posts on using plant based dyes too.

Ostara 1a.jpg

We generally make them for Tarot Cloths, but one customer I know uses them to wrap gifts...another made patchwork curtains with them. So many creative uses!

mint 1d.jpg

Anyways, we begin with white silks, and also need;

Soda Ash
Urea
Dyes
Synthropol (or other dye suspension)

Stainless Steel measuring and stirring spoons
Stainless and or Glass measuring cups
Either a plastic bucket, or dishpan
Gloves

So We Begin...
Fill the bucket with some Cold water, and add 1 C soda ash per gallon. (soda ash will heat up in the water before it melts in) Then with gloves, mix it in until dissolved and set it aside.

Silks 1b.jpg

I use a measuring cup for mixing the dyes, because it makes life easier.

For each cup of HOT water, we add 1 T Urea and mix it in very well

Silks 1c.jpg

Silks 1d.jpg

Once the water becomes clear again, we add 2 t of dye per cup (1 t for pastel versions, or more for over-dyes)

I use these same ratios for t-shirts, sheets, socks, or whatever we want to dye, so long as they are natural fibers.

Silks 1f.jpg

Mix it all in very well, and then let it sit while putting the fabric into the soda ash bucket

Silks 1h.jpg

Once the fabric is well saturated and swished around a bit...I squeeze it out and drop it in the sink with the dye pot...

Silks 1i.jpg

Then one at a time, open them up and then submerge in the dye. I tend to squeeze them a bit and swish them around

Silks 1j.jpg

I use regular plastic baggies (like alligator bags), and once dyed, gently squeeze out the excess dye and drop them in a bag. Only one colour to a bag of course...

Silks 1l.jpg

Now we let them all sleep for 24 hours...tomorrow we rinse and wash.

*Note to self, get stainless sink!

Silks 1k.jpg

Clean up Tip...Baking Soda will neutralize the soda ash and the urea. Please add 1/2 C per gallon and mix it in well. Let sit for 30 minutes before dumping any down the drain!

Sort:  

That is a much better looking sink than mine,
such pretty colors! we have the same kind and
it stains so easy from coffee and things :-)
Love the dye colors such pretty silkies!!
You do really cool stuff @elew

Bleach is my friend ;) ours stains real easy too, but if we can afford it when we get the new water heater I am going to try and switch it for stainless. I like to scrub and disinfect kitchen stuff...
Thanks, it's funny because with such a wide variety of things I make, they all oddly fit together. I never get bored, that's for sure :D I do wish I could sew better, and do carpentry...but me and right angles don't seem to get along well...

Carpentry, now there is a art I've always admired, especially
the things carved of wood and made to fit without nails wow
And the ancients who worked that same way with giant
boulders, whoa

Great! Thanks for this info, I'm eager to make my own tarot and altar cloths, so I was happy to see it was even mentioned here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04