Upcycling Worn Out Clothes.

in #craft6 years ago (edited)

I didn't get myself organised enough and missed @livesustainably's first contest, but I've got myself sorted for this one! This week the challenge is to show something being reused or upcycled.

Around here, reusing things is rarely glamorous and mostly happens in the garden, but a few years ago I found the time to make some bags for my daughters and myself from worn out jeans and other old clothes.

IMG_20180119_191245.jpg

My first step was to salvage what I could from the old jeans and trousers. For my daughters I tried to get the special touches from some of their old favourites like the embroidered flowers or cherries. Once I had what I wanted I stitched them together into panels then cut the pattern out as if it was a standard piece of fabric. I didn't have a pattern ready as such, just ideas from examining other bags and I fitted that around the longest zip the shops sold. These days I save old zips when dismantling things that are past their use, so I have a much better choice.

IMG_20180119_191216.jpg

On one side of the bag I reused a back pocket, but it's more decorative that practical so I made a larger pocket on the other side. The inside is partially lined with material from some aprons that my husband's work place was throwing out at the time. It's partially lined because I was still trying to figure out how to accomplish it without it looking a complete mess. What's there covers up the worst of the fraying from the seams on the inside so it looks a bit neater and things don't catch on the loose cotton strands when going in and out. Just for fun I added little finishing touches like the metal Wrangler label.

One of the great things about the bags is that they are completely washable, so I can throw them in the washing machine with the rest of the laundry if needed. It's been at least 12 years since I made them. The one in the photos is my youngest daughter's. Admittedly this hasn't been used constantly, but it's had stints as a dance bag and school bag. My bag got used daily and was beyond redemption after about 5 years. My husband was begging me to get rid of it!

They were all made on my favourite, old hand cranked Singer sewing machine, so no electricity was used.



You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

IMG_20180111_135541.jpg

Sort:  

Bags made from jeans are one of my favorites. Practically indestructible. I understand hanging on to one for so long. It's hard to believe they've worn out!

It was well used and went everywhere with me! I'm pretty pleased that the girls' bags still look as good as when I made them.

This is really amazing!! It looks great and so functional. You really have a knack for upcycling :)

Thank you. I'm afraid I don't get much time for it these days though. This was BG, before garden!

oo this is a neato idea. I really gotta get back into sewing things. Thanks for the inspo and props on the recycled bags!

Thank you. I haven't had much time for sewing myself of late. I have piles of old clothes waiting for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98