How social distancing is felt differently per region

in #covid-194 years ago

Social distancing will surely be the word of 2020, and I am a believer in it. Apart from that it keeps the bugs away, there are also some more social benefits from this. One is the awkwardness of when you see someone who you don't know that good...should you hug, give three kisses (a Dutch habit) or just shake hands. Well with this social distance story this debate gets a lot easier, because all of the above are out of question.

Also for instance in restaurants or other places you should keep 1.5 meter distance from other tables. Isn't this what you always have wanted when getting some food, in stead of being cramped up next to strangers overhearing their conversations. Or buying in a queue somewhere with that annoying stranger awkwardly pushing in your knees with his stuff, also a goner. Not too bad if you ask me



Screenshot_20200713121401_Photo Editor.jpg

All jokes aside. The social distancing is a good thing at the moment, but not something you would want to be keeping because affection with people you know is actually good for humans I think. So I am still very keen on social distancing, especially since I work with sick people. This makes my position also different compared to other. I don't want to be a source, because I can kill people with it who didn't ask for that.


So I was in Amsterdam over the weekend. City life! Yay, the feeling of vacay! And with that kind of weather really the calm inside the busy city which is actually medium busy at the moment. And there ofcourse in a birthday which I was there were a lot of different opinions about social distancing.

The Amsterdam region hasn't been hit that hard in the first Covid-19 wave, so I really do understand that you look at it from a different perspective with a different experience.



Screenshot_20200713121443_Photo Editor.jpg


But it is almost hard to imagine for some people that the region where I live in was hit a lot harder, and that yes, I do know people who had covid-19 around me and also yes, I also know people who died from it, and no these are not all obese, kidney failing 70+ year olds, but it almost seems like I am talking to deaf ears in some perspective. I get it, what you don't see, feels like it is not there. But acknowledging that in other regions it wasn't so shiny at a certain point was the least you can do.

So yeah, there was a difference in how people wanted to social distance, and for now that is okay. Let's see what happens when the tables start to turn again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75