Cook With Us #30: Free For All {Spaghetti Squash w/ Eggplant & Pumpkin Sauce and Tofu Ricotta}

in #cookwithus5 years ago

Happy Sunday everyone! I'm back today with my entry for the latest @cookwithus challenge: Free For All Week! The options were endless this week, so it was actually a challenge to narrow it down to what I wanted to share. Luckily I had some spaghetti squash that I had bought a few weeks ago at the farmers market just waiting to be used.

IMG_20181110_175304324.jpg

@dksart and I made it out the market yesterday morning to freshen up my pantry stores, so I grabbed one of the last eggplants of the year. This turned out to be one of those meals that was a good blend of fresh local produce like the squash and eggplant, but then also utilized a few good pantry staples like canned tomatoes and tofu. I know some people don't like to use canned versions of anything, which I can totally respect. I try to use fresh or homemade for the majority of my food, but don't mind filling out with a few store-bought options as winter approaches. With tomatoes I opt for BPA-free, no-salt added organic versions. If I can I will also try to find glass jars instead of cans. Maybe next year we will finally get lucky and have a good tomato crop in our own garden!

IMG_20181110_145742658_HDR.jpg

The pumpkin wasn't overly prominent in flavor, but I love using it to bump up the nutrition level in any dish. It also helps keep up the moisture level. Pumpkin and other orange squash has such good fiber and Vitamin A content. It is also still in season around here, so I need to cook some extra to puree and freeze for later. The tofu ricotta definitely adds some creamy texture to balance out the acid from the tomatoes and meatiness of the eggplant. All together it was a very satisfying and homey dish that hit the spot on a cold fall evening!

Spaghetti Squash w/ Eggplant & Pumpkin Sauce

  • 1 large or 2 small spaghetti squash
  • 1 small onion, peeled & chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled & minced
  • 1 large eggplant, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning blend
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 (15-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup water
  • 2-3 cups chopped fresh greens (optional--as usual I had some in need of using up!)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Cut off the stem of your spaghetti squash, then cut in half lengthwise. Scoop out the seeds and place the squash halves face down on a lined baking sheet. Place in the oven and cook for 45-60 minutes, depending upon the size of your squash.

IMG_20181110_173736796.jpg

While your squash is cooking, prepare the eggplant sauce. Place the onion and garlic in a large stockpot over medium heat. Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes or until the onion has softened and is starting to brown. Add in a few tablespoons of water as needed to prevent sticking.

IMG_20181110_162217707.jpg

Next place the chopped eggplant into the pot and continue cooking for 10 more minutes. Stir in the Italian seasoning, oregano and red pepper flakes then the tomatoes, pumpkin and water. Bring just to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer partially covered for 45 minutes. Stir occasionally. When the sauce is cooked through, remove from heat and stir in the leafy greens if you are using. It is a great way to use some slightly wilted greens up at the end of the week. Fresh chopped herbs would also help brighten up the flavor.

Once the squash is done, let cool slightly and use a fork to shred the flesh into "spaghetti" strands. Place in a bowl and scoop out some of the sauce on top. Finish off with tofu ricotta.

IMG_20181110_180034413.jpg

Tofu Ricotta

  • 1 (14-ounce) package firm organic tofu, drained of excess liquid
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

IMG_20181110_161553011.jpg

Place all of the ingredients in a bowl and mash with a fork until the tofu is crumbled to resemble ricotta cheese. Adjust your seasonings as you like!

IMG_20181110_175955006.jpg

Of course a slice of fresh bread is never remiss in this situation. You need something to sop up any delicious sauce leftover. 😉

Thanks @chefsteve, @pandamama, @offoodandart and the whole crew for another great week!



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Great post @plantstoplanks. I like the idea of tofu ricotta and it’s use in your recipe. I went shopping for new garden plants over the week and was considering getting an eggplant plant. But haven’t yet it might die very soon. Good luck.

Thanks @foodforsoul! The tofu ricotta was a nice touch. Definitely added a good creamy texture and a little tang from the apple cider vinegar. The farmer at the market said that was her last batch of eggplant for the year, so I'll probably have to wait until next summer for more now unless I get some at the grocery store. :)

All spaghetti needs a side of good bread. It’s one of the best parts :). Very good looking meal @plantstoplanks. I see even with not feeling well you still take no days off in the kitchen 😉. Nothing screams comfort like a bowl of warm spaghetti. Mmmm, mmmm 😋

Definitely no guilt eating a piece of local sourdough bread when the "pasta" itself is actually squash! (Though to be fair I wouldn't feel bad if it were real pasta 😉) Still feeling under the weather, but at least cooking doesn't require getting out of my pajamas. Gotta make sure I've got something to bring to FAV tomorrow!

Sometimes a few good pajama and cooking days is all we need to feel tip top. Pasta, stews, bread, etc, are all the ultimate comfort food. How does it go… “feed a cold, starve a flu…” something like that. I hope you feel better with each bite of your nutritious food.

Side note, when I’m sick I wish that Dandays could cook up the things I cook for him while he’s sick. Haha… am I the only one?

I'm hoping it is a cold then because I haven't lost my appetite yet. ;) I've packed myself full of all the good stuff, so I'm counting on my body to use it to do what it needs to do to heal. @dksart will definitely help me out in the kitchen if I'm really down for the count, and he does make a mean cup of tea, haha!

I bet, I’ve seen his “apple crisp”. 😋 Warrior Mode :)

Ooo nice, spaghetti squash, sounds interesting.

It's definitely a fun squash! I remember being amazed the first time I tried one and saw how it shredded up like little noodles. 🙂

I am totally going to make this someday!
I am not sure about the pumpkin though. Your photos are great.
Resteeming .. this is @rebeccabe using her alt account @photobe
Are you confused yet? LOL
#steemitbloggers (now you remember)

Haha, thanks @rebeccabe and @photobe. ;)
You could easily just use more tomatoes if you didn't want to try the pumpkin. It isn't very prominent, though.

So many recipes, all are looks so delicious and tasty. you have amazing style for great cooking. Love your work. God bless you.

Thank you so much! I take that as high praise coming from someone as creative as you! Happy Monday to you!

Yummy! This will be my comfort dish for this cold season. Was it sweeter version of spaghetti? Pinned it for future cooking. Thank you for sharing this lovely dish @plantstoplanks. Xx

It definitely comforted my belly this weekend! It still turned out savory even with the pumpkin. 😀 I hope you give it a try sometime.


Hi @plantstoplanks, @photobe / @rebeccabe said you live in
Hotlanta, as do I. I have just followed you. It is always a
Goal of mine to meet (in real life if possible) people
I know from online, in real life, but so far this has
Eluded me for the most part. I had one friend
From tsu, who lives here in Atlanta (really
In Mableton, where I used to live) that
I really met; she actually came to
One of my performances.
I'd really love it if we
Could get together.

Hey there Jerry! I think I meant to comment on one of your recent posts with shots of the city and totally forgot! @dksart and I are just a little bit outside of town. Hope you are staying warm and dry today! Brrr!

I just walked in the door from performing at "The Regency House"
In Decatur.
!steemitworldmap 33.785083 lat -84.278330 Long The Regency House, Holiday Touch Retirement d3scr

Long time client, but this is the first time in almost
6 months since I've performed there last.
VERY first time from this location to any of my clients, so it was an
"exploratory venture" to say the least; surprisingly, despite the
Rain, it was a quick drive there and back.
I'm performing in Austell Wednesday, and Smyrna on Friday

TOFU RICOTTA LOOKS TOOOO GOOD, even tho i dont eat tofu, i think i'd have to give this a try one day..... yummy!

Haha, it really does add that creaminess to mimic traditional ricotta. I can't think of another replacement that would have that same effect, but there may be something out there that would fit. Even though I don't really miss cheese,a little richness and plant-based fat does make a dish stand out.

Lovely, healthy recipe - and unusual - thank you for posting

There were some amazing entries this week, so I'm just happy to be in the mix with all these other outstanding cooks! Always happy to bring a satisfying vegan meal to the contest. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99