👸 Cook with Us #3 / Peppermint Crisp Tart 🏝

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

By the time you read this I will be in the airoplane flying the second leg to Phuket in Thailand.

As you can imagine, it has been a very stressful last few days, packing and re-packing.

Here is my recipe for @cookwithus - desserts - just to show my ultimate support of your wonderful contest.

Peppermint Crisp Tart is a firm favourite with South Africans - and I'm not even sure you can buy the Peppermint Crisp Chocolate elsewhere - but in Cyprus Jack took me to the South African store and there they were.

6912F8BC-450F-4829-B626-AADE838627E8.jpeg
This is the completed dessert

Firstly line a container with coconut biscuits - here I had to find a substitute because I couldn't find any Tennis Biscuits which are normally used.

Next blend together a tin of caramalised condensed milk with cream and add a layer of this heavenly taste.

Finally chop up the chocolate peppermint crisp and voila a very special dessert is created.

@pandamama has a slightly different version to mine. She crushes her biscuits with some butter and lines the bottom of the dish and then adds the caramel. She whips the cream and covers the top and then finally adds the crushed peppermint crisp. A slightly different method. The flavours of the caramel, cream and chocolate with the added biscuit is a really amazing taste. Would be interesting to see if any fellow South Africans make this dish and prepare it differently.

Next recipe will be coming to you from Thailand !!


Here I lined the dish with the biscuits and prepared the cream filling

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:02:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Well done @lesbento for getting your recipe to us inbetween flights. Good luck in Thailand - enjoy your time there

That looks heavenly! I'm going to have to make this. Hopefully you can relax on the beach in Phuket.

Thanks @loveself, it is quite sweet but delicious. If you are able to find peppermint crisp chocolate, it will be the cherry on the cake :) thx

It looks tasty....and really FATTENING.....LOL😺🐾

Yumm - I miss peppermint crisp tart @lesbento - used to be one of my favourites

I’ll make it for you when I see u again sis. Safe travels xx

I love it when I get to learn about a dish for the first time. I have never heard of a peppermint crisp tart until today! Thanks! I would like to try this one day. So, do you set the dessert up in the fridge?

Enjoy your time in Thailand! And thanks for your entry!

Hi @chefsteve:) yes the dessert has to set in the fridge for an hour or so.

112EF671-60C0-4493-8B7B-ACC9A4674C01.jpeg

048A89B4-4387-42C9-99FB-724FACB8A9A0.jpeg

0013037D-FEF1-477A-9AE4-4D5A32AF458C.jpeg

I hope you will be able to find the South African products or a good altrnative.

Thanks a lot. I am enjoying my first few days already :)

I love that picture of the whisk and the cream filling. It looks so yummy! Thanks for sharing this favorite South African dessert. I have to admit this is new to me but it looks delicious!

Happy adventures in Thailand! Will look forward to your stories. Fun!!!

Thanks @offoodandart :)

Looks like a very tasty dessert @lesbento

Congrats! This post was resteemed and upvoted by @puppybot!

Send 0.400 SBD or 0.400 STEEM to @puppybot with your post URL in the memo. Get your post resteemed to 4000+ followers and get a minimum of 20+ upvotes!

Want to learn more? Click here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25