@purpledaisy's How To Make Vegetables Stay Crispy When Cooking

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

@purpledaisy's taste for food is as delectable as her article about cooking. Let's follow her as she unveils the not-so-secret recipe and making vegetables stay crispy she'll be sharing with us. Enjoy this sumptuous food-read!


Not all people love to cook but there are some who would love to cook but cannot or do not know how to. Some just know the basics of cooking, boiling, frying, baking and sautéing. Some experiment, as long as what you are cooking is edible, there is no harm in trying out new recipes. That is how new recipes and new tastes were discovered.

I love to cook. I usually look for recipes of a certain dish. I check out a couple different ones because some have different ingredients and techniques. Once I look at all the recipes, I combine them, add or minus till I have what I want.


https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2018/03/16/12/46/food-3231146_960_720.jpg

Here I will share how to keep vegetables to stay crispy and not get too soft especially if cooking chop suey or stir fried vegetable dish.

First gather all the vegetables. Wash, peel and slice them not to thin but just bite size. Then set aside to dry. Get a wok or a deep frying pan. This is easier because the heat is well distributed when you use a wok. Then some cooking oil.


http://media.4rgos.it/i/Argos/8615466_R_Z001A_UC1280849?$Web$&$DefaultPDP570$

This is a deep frying pan.

pan
purplepoilz

This is a standard wok, easy to use with handles at both sides.

utensils
pixabay

These are the utensil to use. Preferable the ladle with the holes so we can drip off the excess oils.

I learned this technique long ago when I was watching a cooking show titled “Wok with Yan” I don’t think it is showing anymore unless there are reruns.

He said to heat a small amount of oil in the wok, when hot add the vegetables one type at a time. Stir fry the vegetable until you have coated it with oil and see that it is slightly fried, do not over fry it. DO this with each vegetable just add more oil if you are stir frying a lot. When you remove from the wok and drip off the excess oil, you can combine them all together in a bowl.

Then after, stir fry onions, garlic and the protein until almost cook. Then add the vegetables, continue to stir fry then add your sauce. Continue cooking until the sauce thickens but not too long. Remove, place in a serving platter and serve, then voila! Now you can eat chop suey or stir fried vegetable like broccoli, carrots, bell pepper and mushrooms and have crispy vegetables, not soggy or over cooked. Works for me.

enter image description here

Sort:  

When I lived in Malaysia for 2 years and been far away from my mom, I start to learn to cook for myself, otherwise I'll get hungry...

Thanks for sharing ma'am daisy @purpledaisy57 thanks #sd family

keep on steeming and cooking

Reading this post makes me hungry! What's for lunch today? Mmmm.

Wow, thank you for the tips maam daisy. I would do this as soon as I cook vegetable dish.😘

Now I know the technique. Thanks mam @purpledaisy57

I used to steam all the veggies in cooking chop suey , now I will try this technique.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94