Cook with Nora (The French Tradition)

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_11-09-12.56.39.jpg

I've always been a lover of the kitchen and cooking has been my best hobby. Growing up as a child i always enjoyed being around my mum in the kitchen helping her with the little things i could lay my hands on then as a child.

I asked a lot of question whenever she does something i don't understand. At a very tender age my mum had already trust me enough to leave a whole pot of food for me to handle all by myself, and whenever i cooked i had to tell everyone at home that i was the one who cooked the food.

It was so exciting watching my dad nodding his head whenever he tasted a meal prepared by me. I can't forget those lines he was always using ''he will say nora my daughter you're really a true daughter of your mother'' he always bragged about my mum being the best cook in the world until one day i over heard him say to his friend, '' my daughter nora is a magic in the kitchen and she is over taking my wife.

I was so happy to get such hype from my dad and ever since then i promise not to let him down and that was how i fell in love with the kitchen. You can never cook for me when i'm around because i always love cooking.
Because of this i've gone to several Cooking schools to learn how to cook different kinds of meals.

I wish to share my cooking skills and ability to my friends here on steemit so they can also learn how to prepare most meal the enjoy but doesn't know how to prepare it.

INTRODUCING COOK WITH NORA

PicsArt_11-09-12.56.39.jpg

#CookwithNora is a daily food recipe program i'm introducing to the community to help a lot of people out there learn how to prepare different kinds of meal.
Another thing you'll learn from this program will not only be how to prepare a meal but you're also going to learn which meal you're suppose to have for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Give your meal a tasty makeover! Go beyond a boring cooking style with these delicious, easy, good-for-you healthy meal recipes.

I'll be giving you all types of recipes from all over the world, but on this episode we are going to deal with the french food. But before we start let me tell a liltle thing about the french people.

The French approach to food is characteristic; they bring to their consideration of the table the same appreciation, respect, intelligence, and lively interest that they have for the other arts, for painting, for literature, and for the the theatre. By French i mean French men as well as French women, for the men in France play a very active part in everything that pertains to the kitchen.

I heard working men in Paris discuss the way their wives prepare a beef stew as it is cooked in Burgundy or the way a cabbage is cooked with salt pork and browned in the oven. A woman in the country can be known for kilometres about for the manner in which she prepares those sublimated dumplings known as quenelles, and a very complicated dish they are. Conversation even in a literary or political salon can turn to the subject of menus, food, or wine.

"POINT TO BE NOTED"

Throughout my own cooking life i have always used standard American measuring cups and spoons,These i know it will be difficult or impossible to come by where you reside and so i shall give a few equivalent weights that may assist cooking using standard British cups and spoons.

The main thing to bear in mind is that the American fluid pint and the british fluid pint differ. The first contains 16 oz. and the second 20 oz. So that the usual standard American measuring cup which i use holds 8 fluid oz., as against the 10 oz. contained by the standard British measuring cup. When i say, then 'take half a cup' i mean take 4 oz. and not the 5 oz. which marks the halfway level on british measuring cups.

As to the spoons, three standard American teaspoons will fill a standard American tablespoon, and where i say 'spoons' in the recipes i mean those very exact American spoons. The British standard tablespoon is a trifle larger and holds four British teaspoonfuls of liquid.

**Today on our menu is ''BCEUF BOURGUIGNON'' ( Beef stew as cooked in Burgundy)


source


source
Recipe and how to prepare it.

2lb. of shoulder of beef without bones cut in squares of about 2 inches.
3 tablespoons lard.
3 n half oz. salt pork cut in small squares.
12 small onions.
1 tablespoons flour.
2 cups old dry Burgundy red wine.
1 clove garlic, a bay leaf, (Bay leaf is the aromatic leaves of several plants used in cooking.) a small sprig of thyme, a silver of nutmeg. salt, no pepper.

First you melt the lard in a Dutch oven';

(Lard is pig fat in both its rendered and unrendered forms obtained from any part of the pig where there is a high proportion of adipose tissue) (A Dutch oven is a thick-walled cooking pot with a tight-fitting lid. Dutch ovens are usually made of seasoned cast iron)

when it smokes, brown the salt pork and remove, brown the onions and remove. Then place the pieces of meat side by side and brown on all sides. Then add the salt pork and flour, stir with a wooden spoon. Add the wine well heated, stir it well. Add the clove of garlic, the orange peel, and the bouquet. Cover hermetically and cook over low flame for 3 n half hours. If the wine and juice have evaporated add a very small quantity of boiling water at a time. Add onions and cook for 15 minutes longer. Remove bouquet. Place meat and gravy on serving dish, sprinkle chopped parsley over top. Then you are ready to have a delicious meal.

This is just the beginning....more to come your way.!!!

Sort:  

Awesome work on your post! French food is great, especially accompanied with French wine :)

yea you're right @julienbh

nice one dear..

Nice :) Do you have YT channel with cooking videos?

Amazing, looking forward to seeing some great dishes. Followed......

thanks for stopping by..more to come

I love food. Eating is one of my hobbies

don't worry i'll send you a full pot

Nice writeup, food one of the essentials of life and I hope this cooking post you started takes you to places both on steemit and other places as well

thank you dear...i pray it does take me places

Just imagining you sending me my share through discord group

lol...i'll do just that.

Beef Stew In Burgundy ....it sure looks tasty @noraliza. I love good food and I hate eating the same old same old dish everyday. Nice to know you can put a dish together and can even teach others. Keep it up dear. Cheers!

#Hug-Challenge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00