I write like I cook

in #cooking5 years ago

I write like I cook

It gets messy, it happens in spurts, and there is no recipe...

foodie1.jpg

Writing is like cooking is like writing

I've often said of my kitchen creations, "If all of the ingredients are edible, the end result will be edible." Does this translate to writing? "If all of the words in my story are readable, the end result will be readable." Yes and maybe. In a literal sense, yes. People with a command of the English language will be able to read the words. From a literary perspective, maybe. The story will be considered readable depending on personal taste. Readers may be intrigued by a headline only to abandon the story when my content doesn't grab them. It's the same with cooking. What I produce will not suit everyone's taste. Some people don't like poetry and some people hate papayas. Potato, potata. Do you like alliteration? If not, you're probably finding this unreadable.

It gets messy

Thinking about two of my passions, writing and cooking, I noticed my approach is similar. Both are creative endeavors and when I get in the zone, I am in it. Many kitchens have been destroyed and laptop batteries depleted because I was in a whirlwind of creativity. "Can't stop, won't stop" could be my motto. There are differences, sure. Cleaning up the kitchen after a cooking session takes more effort than plugging in my computer after a writing session. And the end results? The food is much more photogenic and colorful than my writing. [insert pun about using colorful language] Plus, I get to eat the food. Writing may feed my soul, and while that's poetic and all, I can't actually survive on words alone. If only…

It happens in spurts

When inspiration strikes, I have to strike while the iron is hot. In either situation, kitchening or computering, I am generally not happy to be interrupted. [Fun fact: I like to verb nouns] Demanding my attention when I'm cooking could lead to burnt food and disrupting my writing could lead to ...  well, insert that colorful language here. There are few things more frustrating than having an idea float just beyond my reach because I didn't write it immediately. Like food that doesn't get eaten right away, the idea trail gets cold. I'm left with either unappealing eggs or a dead-end story. Interrupting my creative process is not recommended.

There is no recipe

I enjoy creating when I don't have to follow tedious rules or instructions. Sometimes, it's necessary. If I were writing for an assignment with specific criteria, or baking a cake I didn't want to fall flat, I would need to be more methodical. Generally, though, I'm cooking or writing for myself first. If someone wants to eat food with me, great. When people enjoy my writing, upvote and follow me, wonderful. But I'm most motivated when it comes from within, happiest when I'm led by my own fervor - however messy it may get.

Who am I writing for?

When I wrote, "I'm most motivated when it comes from within" I meant it. That doesn't mean I never write to gain approval or earn money. Key words: most motivated. Intrinsic motivation (from within) has a stronger pull than extrinsic motivation over the long term. When I work to get desired results (followers, upvotes, resteems) it can be demotivating when the results don't materialize. When I am writing because I love to write, I am motivated by the process.

foodie2.jpg

All photos are mine. Shot on Google Pixel 2.

Find me on Twitter @mininthecity or my blog at www.mininthecity.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22