Grandpa Gotta Cook—Taco Pizza

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

It's Been A While

Yes, it has. And actually, I could have posted this edition of Grandpa Gotta Cook sooner, but I decided to wait so I could use the Friday Food Fight tag.

Let's Get This Party Started

I think I have established now that when it comes to my turn to cook, I usually don't really think about it until the day of, and sometimes only hours before. That doesn't always work out for the best, but eventually it does work out. This time around, though, for some variety, I guess, I did know from a day or so ahead of time what I wanted to try, and it was something I'd been wanting for a while.

Taco Pizza

Now, there are plenty of ways to make such a thing, some which actually includes a crust and some taco related ingredients. In my case, I wanted to get a little more taco and a little less pizza. Hopefully, that becomes abundantly clear as we walk through this together.

Taco Pizza—Ground Beef.JPG

To prepare this meal, I began with the meat, one pound of ground beef. This taco pizza idea plays off variations on a theme, which we generally start out calling American Tacos, then going to Taco Salad and once in a while a taco dish that you eat more as a dip with tortilla chips. Generally, the same ingredients are used, the final dish just ends up in a different form.

Once the meat was cooking, it was time to get some tomatoes, olives and lettuce ready. Wait?! No mushrooms and bell pepper? Sadly, no. I'm not sure when the mushrooms would ever fit, but I suppose if this were a fajita pizza or something like that, the bell pepper would have worked.

Taco Pizza—Veggies and Add Ons.JPG

Along with the veggies, there would also be available some cheese, sour cream and salsa. My wife normally makes her own salsa, but I figured we could use the jar of peach salsa I bought for another meal a while back since there was still plenty left of it.

With the add ons ready to go, the taco meat seasoning came next. We have McCormick's, but whatever taco seasoning you prefer I say go for it. Just make sure to read the instructions properly. Other members of my household have actually reversed the seasoning to water ratio. Can you say, "Gag me with a spoon?" I knew you could!

Taco Pizza—Seasoning.JPG

Once that mixture was on the meat and simmering, I turned my attention to the refried black beans. My preference would be to have my wife cook up some of hers, but it's time consuming and not really necessary if you have a perfectly good can of premade refried beans on hand. I'm just not a fan of the color and texture right out of the can. Fortunately, things get better once it's all warmed up.

Taco Pizza—Refried Beans.JPG

Now, having alluded to wanting more of a TACO pizza rather than a taco PIZZA, there was a pretty important decision or two to make. One was, did I really want to use tortillas (yes, I did), and two, did I really want to put the toppings on the outside of the tortilla rather than on the inside.

Bet you didn't know there was an outside and inside of a tortilla, did you?

Well, in this case, there would be. The plan was, have a 'crust' with mozzarella cheese in the middle, which is effectively, a quesadilla. I figured that would add some needed sturdiness to the tortilla crust, and also some additional flavor.

Taco Pizza—Quesadilla.JPG

Once the cheese was melted and the tortillas a little less flexible, beans were smeared on top and then the season ground beef.

From the start, I was concerned how this might be eaten without making a mess. Keeping the now quesadilla base in one piece was an option, but I was afraid that still wasn't sturdy enough to support the topics like a normal pizza crust would. My solution: cut the quesadilla into quarters. I figured if that didn't work out ideally, that at least each individual could be folded and eaten New York Pizza style.

Taco Pizza—Quarters With Meat.JPG

That meant the only thing left to do was throw on the rest of the ingredients. Since not everyone in the household eats all the same toppings (it's so complicated sometimes), I figured I just leave the rest of the stuff to taste. What you see below is what I prepared for myself, with all of the fixings.

Taco Pizza—Finished.JPG

The All Important Taste Test

I liked it. Strangely enough, though, if I were to do it again, I would not include the quesadilla part. Not sure what else I'm going to do, but the mozzarella flavor, I thought, detracted from the taco part.

My youngest son and his wife both said they enjoyed it, with their usual degrees of enthusiasm, so I'm going to claim it as a hit and worthy of trying again.

The wife? Well, she ate it, which I take as a good sign.

All images by Glen Anthony Albrethsen

Sort:  

Some avocado would have been great. Nevertheless, it looks tasty.

We haven't used avocado so much in this version of our American tacos/taco salad and now taco pizza, but yes, avocado would have been a wonderful addition, and I did think about it. Just one more thing to prepare that not everyone would have eaten. I'm wondering now, though, if the avocado might have helped to offset the mozzarella? 🤔

It's true that not everybody likes avocado. I love it, so that's why I suggested it.

Maybe you just put too much mozzarella in there. I would have used cheddar, though.

I think the main issue for me was that the quesadilla crust clashed with the three cheese Mexican blend that went on top. Cheddar is one of those flavors that not everyone likes here. If it were me, we would have used the cheddar on top like we always used to do.

I think the main issue for me was that the quesadilla crust clashed with the three cheese Mexican blend that went on top. Cheddar is one of those flavors that not everyone likes here. If it were me, we would have used the cheddar on top like we always used to do.

Now I'm hungry...Thanks :)

You're welcome. :)

As I said, the flavor didn't quite come out the way I was hoping, so there's some work to be done on the tortilla end of things, but that's not really going to help the hunger now, is it?

I'd offer to ship some leftovers but I doubt they would arrive in any edible condition any sooner than next week. :)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Congrats on trying something new, I had no idea there was an outside and an inside to a tortilla. How do you tell?

Oh, sorry, I was joking about that. It just kind of came out as I was writing and I thought it would be funny to leave in. :) You're welcome to use it, though, and come up with whatever you think makes the inside or outside of a tortilla.

I just looked it up to make sure, and didn't find anything. As far as I know there isn't a designated inside or outside until you choose on which side you're going to put your food on. :)

LOL, I was thinking that might be your answer, but I wanted to make sure!

Okay, good. I really wasn't trying to trick anyone. I just thought it was funny, but sometimes I'm the only one who thinks so. :)

Well I never knew a tortilla had an inside and an outside.

What in the heavens is a taco pizza!! More taco than pizza but it is sounding very good. We have some local taco pizza and they have some nacho chips sprinkled on top and lots of cheese.

Oh yeah refried beans I love those in tacos the complete meal! Meat, veggies, cheese and hot sauce!!

You're the second person to ask about the inside and outside of a tortilla. When I was writing the post, it just kind of came out, and so I left it thinking it would be funny. As far as I know (and I actually did look it up), there is no real inside or outside of a tortilla until you decide which is which yourself by putting the food in it. :)

As I said, I think it turned out pretty good. Just need to figure out something better for the bottom of it. :)

It had the effect of getting people to ask you hahahha. Good bait there hahaha.

Maybe add some egg wash on the tortilla to give it more body and firmness.

Egg wash. That's an interesting idea. Hadn't even heard of it before. I'll try that next time. A little egg flavoring might actually enhance the taste too, instead of detracting from it.

Nice addition to Food Fight Friday I like the idea of using the tortillas instead of dough.
I’m a taco addict!!
I’ve been contemplating getting help, but but that could turn me towards something less tasty.
Thanks for joining in on Food Fight Friday. Looking forward to what you bring to the table next week.

Well, thanks. I've been thinking about adding my semi-regular posts to the Triple F pile since I first saw you all sporting it. Since I'm thankfully not the main cook here, gearing up for it can be a royal pain, and then procrastination ultimately gets me.

Next week may be hamburgers and hot dogs, since it sounds like I'm cooking on Memorial Day. :)

Any food works👍🏻👍🏻 We are trying to create a little community of just plain food lovers. From gormet to pancakes it doesn’t matter. Maybe even gormet pancakes 😜
I can’t wait until we get a good amount of people posting with the fff tag then we can start doin contest and challenges for a chance to win sbd.

We have a taco pizza ingredient list to our taste. Nice to have some suggestions for variety.

Does look really, really good.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-25T23:07:18
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 96.85/100.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Now I'm hungry...Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70