The Deadpost Initiative - Week 45 - Share your most undervalued work ($16 Steem rewards last week)

in #contest5 years ago

pexels-photo-261895.jpeg

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlooked during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

What a week, it was a tough call this week with even more variety than usual. Photography, self introductions, philosophy, religion, history and cooking. I love it when there is a good mix of different topics and styles and nice engagement.

Last Week's Winners

@eoj - $4 Steem prize

Stellar introduction post from @eoj, someone who is now on my list of steemians I want to know better. It's a long list but Joe just got bumped up towards the top with this! And now I know where his steemit name comes from.

Allow Me to Introduce Myself! | Husband / Father / Humanitarian / Traveler / Expat Abroad

—-

@alignment - $3 Steem prize

@alignment makes a connection that I hadn't made before, that shared in the title. It was a bit difficult for me to process but it definitely was something worth thinking about.

Success & comfort zone.

—-

@phoenixwren - $3 Steem prize

This was a really fun post to read. I've always been interested in traditions which influence our culture but are not recognized for that influence. Paganism is one of those things, and I am particularly interested in the influence it had on Christianity and modern western culture. This was very enlightening! Thanks @phoenixwren

Pagan Holiday Primer: Samhain 101

—-

@paradigm42 - $2 Steem prize

Beautiful photography of little critters. We often take these guys for granted but they are actually beautiful once you get over your own ideas of beauty. thanks @paradigm42

American Dagger Moth Catapillar - Macrophotography


@themadgoat - $2 Steem prize

WTF did I just read! Hahahaha @themadgoat delivers again. Have you seen that video on youtube "History of Japan", where a guy lays out a history of Japan with random facts dropped in and a keyboard following the sounds of his voice in a menacing hypnotic way? I think @themadgoat needs to collaborate with that guy.

Fun Facts About Prohibition: Walgreens, NASCAR, and Children's Menus


@irastra - $2 Steem prize

@irastra shares a recipe and a bit of history about polenta which I had actually never heard of but want to try now.

Polenta


Week 45

pexels-photo-460617.jpeg
(From pexels)

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with the fluid payout from this post (split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.

Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.
Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)
The prize pool will be the fluid rewards from the post plus any donation to the initiative.
Thanks to @krnel for his delegation and @tribesteemup for their trail support.

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.

—-

If you like what I do, check out my work at Patreon and consider becoming a Patron (or helping me find more Patrons by sharing this link on social media) so I can put more time and energy into fiction, music and community building. Some extra fiction and music will be over at Patreon and it's all pay-what-you-want. Thanks for any and all support!
If you want to chat, come join us to talk about deep shit in the Be awesome discord (no post promo!)
Sort:  

Yay! Thanks so much for the support and the kind words @whatamidoing! And big congrats to @alignment, @phoenixwren, @paradigm42, @themadgoat, and @irastra as well!

Here's my entry for this round. This one is timely: as @suitcasemama and I were driving home today in the taxi, we saw that some of this beautiful street art in our neighborhood has been painted over!!! :( Nooooo! Super bummed, we loved our neighborhood chicken lady! Double bummer because Asin is a local Thai artist!!! At least I was able to capture and share the art before it was destroyed.

https://steemit.com/newbieresteemday/@eoj/street-art-in-bangkok-a-walk-through-the-neighborhood

street art BKK.jpg

There are just a few entries so far this week, I'll come back soon and check out some other post once more folks have shared their links...

Looks like the artists there have a much better sense of humour than here. I know a nice one of a huge clok titled Big time on the wall next to a clockmaker. I like the one with a plumber, looks like society nowadays.

Yep, the street art here in Bangkok is great! Where is the big clock one, that sounds nice!

I just saw you post about this on your #sherlockchallenge post! It's always sad when works of art like these are covered, but the fresh start paves way for new expressions and additions to the canvas!

Cheers Joe,

~ Mako

Hey Mako! That's a great way to look at it, I hope that's the case! But I'll definitely miss seeing that Chicken Lady graffiti on my way home! :)

Great write up and you captured the artists work really well. Also appreciate that you were able to provide a little info on one of the artists. Thank you!

Thank you sir! There's a ton of great art here...I credit Steemit for helping open my eyes to my neighborhood, always looking for an interesting post material! :)

Those street arts are really amazing. You know, the last one (your fav), when I glanced at it th3 first time, I was like, "this, his favorite?" Looked th3 second time, and saw the message😁. Definitely a great message to share... I love the colorful on as well, it definitely adds a more fun feel to the neighborhood!

Congratulations once again to all the winners and a hearty thank you to @whatamidoing for running this initiative.

Here is mine for the week. A little story about finding some semi-secret petroglyphs in Zion. This came out right about the time HF20 happened. I just know it would have been a humongous hit if not for that. LOL.

https://steemit.com/photography/@oldmans/zion-petroglyphs

Very cool! I've been to Zion a bunch of times, I've never heard of, let alone found, these petroglyphs! I'd love to track these down next time I'm in the neighborhood. It looks like it might be near the Checkerboard Mesa area, at the top of the park after the tunnel, as you're exiting east?

It was eight years ago so I am a little foggy but that sounds about right. We were heading over to Bryce and I remember going through the tunnel.

Just googled "Zion petroglyphs secret" and found this.

https://hikestgeorge.com/secret-petroglyphs-canyon-zion-national-park/

I guess it's an internet secret. Lol.

Awesome! Well, it was a secret to me, thanks for the link, I'll put it on the list!

Wow! I love how beautiful that place is. Seems like its well hidden, haven't seen any post about that before😀, I will love to know how life was for them back then in that place.

Great photos!

Thank you!

This is a great initiative @whatamidoing! Just found this and am happy I did. For my enrty, I'd like to nominate one of my favorite foodie Steemians' posts (@birdsinparadise)who has been tirelessly making delicious and nutritious food and blogging about the nutritional benefits and how-tos of some awesome foods. Thanks for hosting !

https://steemit.com/food/@birdsinparadise/salute-your-health-or-a-liquid-dose-of-tropical-sunshine-and-my-moringa-update

You are so kind, thank you @mountainjewel! This is a great initiative @whatamiding! Thank you for this opportunity to share our posts!

I grew up with moringa all around and my Mum will use it for soups but for me, it was nothing but an uninteresting soup made only for "people that live in the village" even though she will talk about how good it is for the body, I never took her seriously.

Well, with so much information on it now, I know a little bit more but still not a big fan of it. Glad to see how you incorporate it in your smoothie @birdsinparadise, maybe that's a great way to get them in....

It definitely feels much better to like or love what one does, even when one does something just for the joy of doing it. And, sure, one has to start somewhere to get somewhere. So after some (or some more) practice, one gets the feeling for the endeavour. Doing something without liking it is actually draining one's own energy.

Yes yes. When the love isn't their it drains one's energy and not only that, ones effort might always seem "lifeless". Slow and steady,we'll get there...

This is a lesson a lot of people need to learn. Take risks, spread your wings, try and fail! It's all part of life and you're never going to improve if you don't try. Thanks for sharing.

~ Mako

Yeah, practice helps make us better and if we only wanna follow the safe part and run away from making mistakes we may never grow...

😊

Great read! It's funny, I grew up with what I call the "Rocky" or "Karate Kid" mentality. Remember those movies? Train in obscurity/in secret, then burst onto the scene to take the prize (although Rocky didn't win in the first Rocky film) ;)
Great for movies, but in reality, the only way you're going to get better at something is to put yourself out there and fail. And fail and fail until you get better. It takes a bit of pride swallowing, but growth/progress is vastly accelerated if you're willing to look silly for a little while. I wish I learned this lesson earlier in life!

Yeah, I remember them!😀

Sure, life isn't like what happens in movies. It's sad how we are often led to believe that its just like it happens in those movies. Yeah, sometimes growth might mean swallowing our pride, letting our selves face embarrassing situations and even humiliating ones. When we fail, its an avenue for growth and not an opportunity to crawl back into our holes...

That was a great read! For the last few years I have tried to live my life that way. It's never too late in life to try something new. You never know what happiness it might bring. :) Thanks for sharing.

True! You never know what happiness it might bring... Thanks for taking out time to read...

Hi! I'm starting to see familiar names now, like @phoenixwren and @eoj as I'm jumping around these guys. This is a nice initiative and I'm happy to join.

Here's my entry. It's a short story I wrote a while back based in the world of my unreleased novel. It takes place from the perspective of a young street-rat trying to scrape a living together. Thanks for your consideration!

https://steemit.com/scifi/@makowrites/malaki-anthology-6-sikari-s-tale-worldbuilding-freewrite

Great read! I love Sci-fi. I see I am going to have to follow you and catch up on some more of this story. :)

Most All of my short-stories are deadposts now, but please have a read and leave your reactions! I'd love to hear what you have to say. My most popular ones are Kayde's Tale and Alora's Tale.

Cheers!

~ Mako

Satori's Stories: On a Digital Island
There once lived a man named D. He lived on a digital island, made of 1s and 3s. This island was made of fear and isolation, but also of endless possibilities. But Mr. D just couldn't see what could be, only what was in front of him.

Thanks so much for this opportunity and for the prize! It's so appreciated! :) Congrats to all the other winners! I love that people get to reshare some older posts here. It's great motivation for those posts that didn't get much attention but we worked hard on!

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.022 which ranks you at #1077 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1086).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #83.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations to all of the winners from last weeks contest!! Thank for choosing my post again @whatamidoing! This weekly contest is a great support to me, and helps motivate me to continue to try and produce quality content. Good luck to all who submit a post this week! :)

My vote is for @satorid. The story was intriguing, insightful and fun. An all too familiar tale in today's 9-5 reality. I especially resonated with " What am I doing? What have I become? Who am I?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91