Results from November "Ragnarok Conspiracy" beta reading lottery.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest6 years ago

As in the preceding two months, I ran a set of lotteries in an attempt to improve the quality of my work as much as possible. As you may know, i post second and third drafts of my upcoming first novel on steemit, and with the last chapter in sight. I have three first-draft chapters lined up and after that as things look now, three more chapters before I'm done posting my second/third draft chapters of what seems to be heading for an about 60,000 to 64,000 word long work of mythpunk style speculative fiction. The novel is divided up into five main parts of 6 to 11 chapters each. Last September, after having had some good fortune with some of the chapter posts, I started off with running beta reading lotteries for the chapters of part one of my novel. I had made a nice sum of STEEM and SBD as the result of a @curie vote and a number of rather strong upvotes by @blocktrades and a small number of medium strength voters, so I decided to try and find a way to apply that good fortune to improving my work through beta reading lotteries.

In October I ran a second set of lotteries, again my posts were bringing in enough SBD to finance the lottery. November I ran the third lottery, but due to a combination of two factors: zero whale votes in November and a bit of playing around with @minowbooster that left my SBD exhausted. So while i hated the idea of changing the rules of the game halfway, I made an announcement that switched the price money from SBD to STEEM and that I would do so at an (at that moment) very much favorable rate. I powered down for a week to fund the lottery, and today the lotteries each had their draws.

  • @doughtaker won the draw for six of the nine chapters and for the overall 12 STEEM prize draw, resulting in a total prize of 22.800 STEEM
  • @bashadow won the draw for the remaining three chapters of part three, resulting in a total prize money of 5.400 STEEM

Congratulation to @doughtaker and @bashadow and thanks to everyone who participated. Also a great thanks to @arthur.grafo who didn't win any prize but who gave great input on chapter one. I hope to see all of you back in this month's beta reading lotteries.

Later today I'll be posting the announcement for this month's beta reading lotteries for part four of Ragnarok Conspiracy. To be safe this time I think I'll be running the lottery with STEEM prices from the start this time. Oh, and I'm thinking about doing different lottery draws on different days this time. Maybe spread over the holidays. I need some time to think about this, so the lottery announcement will probably be later today or maybe tomorow morning.

In any case, the lotteries for part four of the story are coming up soon now. If i manage to complete the final six chapters this month, next month will see the final set of lotteries. But I won't rush it, so it is possible that the last set of rounds will be delayed a few weeks. Hope everyone is enjoying my story and is enjoying the contests. The input i'm getting from you guys is invaluable and even though there aren't that many contenders, I find the experience of running these lotteries extremely enjoyable and educational.

Sort:  

I was enjoying before the lottery, and still enjoying the story. I am much more of a reader than a writer, and when it comes to editing, a definite hack at that but I do try, and I am enjoying learning to edit. I read all the comments and learn a lot from them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14