If you don't read, right now, you might not know number 2 is the only way to keep yourself from getting lycanthropy. Punday Monday 89!

in #contest5 years ago

First, a fun announcement!

Voices in the Darkness: Tales from the Steem Blockchain (Steem Fiction Book 1) by [Fiction, Steem, Nightshade, Jane, Weinhold, Brendan, Arbuckle, Bruce, Hardy, Jim, Donchev, Manol, Thompson, Tammy, Pederson, Stina, de Beer, Yvette]

Hope you don’t mind a little self-promotion at the top, here. Several Steemians, myself included, wrote a book! Check it out! https://steemit.com/book/@improv/published-byexjduz

Welcome to Punday Monday!

puntender.jpg

New To Punday?

Pull up a stool, order a spiked PUNch, and get to know some of the regulars. I'm your PUNtender, @improv.

How To Make a Pun

This contest is open to everyone. Here's a handy dandy guide on how to make a pun: Learn to Pun

Rules for the PUN-test:

  • If you hope to win a prize, your pun must be your original work
  • Puns must be relevant to the topic of the week to win a prize, but they can be very loosely related.

Last Week's Punday Monday:

Here is last week's Punday Monday, and all the puns that were eligible to win this week are in the comments!

Hang on to your PUNderwear. The Winners of This Week's PUNday Monday Are...


(GIF by @littlescribe)

Rookie of the Week:

No rookies this week! But grateful to the advanced punners for your puns!

Pocket Choice Awards:

Every Friday, I put up a post to solicit audience favorites! They can vote on their favorites by sending POCKET to whomever they want to win. This week’s post is here: https://steemit.com/pocket/@improv/3j8ffx-pocket-friday
No votes from @mustang88 this week. Hopefully next week! Use that POCKET!

@paul.atreides made @acolucky win!
Screenshot (34).png

  • POCKET Choice Winner's Circle Season One:

@aloha-creations, @professorbromide, @tcpolymath, @miniature-tiger, @lilygolightly, @chrisroberts, @stinawog, @f3nix, @doctorcrypto, @heroic15397, @littlescribe, @diebitch, @acolucky, @ablaze, and @paul.atreides.

  • POCKET Choice Winners' Circle Season Two:

@ablaze, @coinsandchains, @dollarsandsense, @doctorcrypto, @heroic15397, @littlescribe, @jk6276, @acolucky, @deceth, @richatvns

Grand Prize (which isn’t bigger than the other prizes, just grander):

  • Best Pun

  • Best Pun of the Entire Week

  • Best Overall Pun

DRUMROLL PLEASE.....

OOOO, he knows I like Shaggy Dog Stories!
Screenshot (35).png
@richatvns!

And What Prizes Do They Win, You Ask?

  • Full Strength, 100% Upvote!

Why, as usual, all the punsters got full strength upvotes on their submissions from @improv. This week they also got votes from @freewritehouse! They will next week, too! Together, these upvotes could total in excess of five whole cents!

  • SBI

Which are little bitty upvotes on all your content forever. See @steembasicincome for details. I’ll send one to all of our qualified entrants this week!
Our entrants were:
@richatvns, @acolucky, @paul.atreides

Our winners get bonus prize SBI for winning! (plus one for choosing the POCKET winner this week!

Congrats, @richatvns, @acolucky, @paul.atreides

Screenshot (36).png

  • @tipu Tip + @improv 100% upvote to the post of your choice

Our category winners will each get to choose a post (of their own or someone else's) and I will give that post a fully powered upvote and a @tipu tip!

This Week's Pun Topic Is:

Magic Fest
(I missed Magic Fest, which is a big weekend of Magic: the Gathering, but I will not miss out on making puns about it. I acknowledge that this is a very geeky field, and not all of you may have a deep knowledge about it, so I offer you resources… One, you can find info about Magic on dailymtg.com and two, you can make other kinds of magic puns, like about the kind of magic seen on Fool Us)

As in,
Why do cat planeswalkers avoid the alphabet? Because they Age on ‘E’.
Bada bing, you been punned! You see, there’s a cat (leonin) planeswalker named Ajani, and that sounds kind of like “Age on ‘E’” and for the most part, aging brings you closer to death, so you might want to avoid the letter E.

I'm So Good at Puns

If you've never punned before, it might seem like magic! You can do it, too! Learn how in My Free How-To Guide on Punning!




Sponsors, related content, prizes, and money

Sponsors!

@improv/ @freewritehouse

I mean, am I a sponsor of my own contest? Yes? I guess? Also, because I’m involved in @freewritehouse and they’ve/we’ve hosted Punday Monday events over on that page, I’d like to suggest that they (we) are also a sponsor! Regardless, check out the @freewritehouse community! Furthermore, they/we’re using their SP to upvote your puns!

@curie!

We are one of Curie’s chosen communities! Prizes have doubled in season 2, thanks to @curie’s sponsorship! Curie curators do tremendous work making sure unrecognized authors of quality content get recognized and rewarded! They do great work sifting through the heaps of posts to find the undiscovered gems.

Related Content:

  • Punday Monday Year One-Day contest results HERE
  • @freewritehouse offers writing and word-smithing contests every week
  • @steembasicincome has a contest round-up (that includes us) where you can find more opportunities to win SBI.
  • @contestkings features our contest and MORE!

Outside referrals that benefit me.

Coinbase:

Cryptocurrency investment wallet Join HERE and we’ll both get $10 of BTC

  • Hot tip, I buy BTC on pro.coinbase.com, then send it to bittrex to trade for Steem and send steem to my wallet here. It’s the most efficient way with the fewest fees I’ve found. If you’ve found better, let me know. - I learned from someone else that buying LTC and sending it to bittrex then trading it for BTC then trading that for STEEM is the least-fees way. Can someone confirm?

Robinhood:

Investment platform buying/selling stocks Join HERE and we’ll both get a share of a stock (probably worth ~$4)

Earn.com:

Small tasks for small rewards. Need a business or .edu email, Join HERE and we’ll both get $1 of BTC

Mannabase:

Sign up for universal basic income distribution funded by cryptocurrency Join HERE

Swift:

Yet another attempt at a UBI Join HERE

Swell:

If you’re interested in more traditional investing, Swell invests in stocks that have a positive social impact according to their standards, and has a referral program whereby they’ll match your first $50 investment. CLICK HERE for company website.

Sort:  

Hi White List Author!

Thanks for being part of our contest community.

Here is a 100% upvote from @contestkings

Official Discord Server: https://discordapp.com/invite/SMSNk7w

blue.gif

I don't know much about Magic the Gathering but I do know about Magic the 8-ball. He lived in my neighborhood. I never did learn his real name.

Thank you! https://steemit.com/icicles/@acolucky/icicles-in-the-neighborhood

@freewritehouse is upvoting puns! I hope you'll join us for more contests and friendship!

I can't wait for our Punday Monday book to come out. It would make a great coffee table book, don't you think? Also, do you realize that when you mention, "...you can make other kinds of magic puns" you have lifted the lid on the whole JK Rowling universe. Ok here goes, what would call Undesirable No. 1 after he is bitten by a werewolf......HAIRY POTTER!

Boom!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no, @paul.atreides, he did even more than that.... he just opened it to a little Piers (Xanth)ony some of my favorite puntastic adventures....

Hi fellow punsters,

I don't know much about Magic the gathering so I'm going to take a while doing the one this week. But I loved to read the puns of Robert Lynn Asprin the author of the Magic Myth series. And Love Poker a card game so prepare for the coming mash-up....

Let there be no "myth-conception" it won't be a "Fervant Charge" into a "Foul Presense". I'm going to use my skillz and take "Evasive Action", wait to draw a hand from the deck that gives me nuts as well as driving my opponent nutz. That way there are no "Myth-interpretations" or "Myth-fortunes" during my "Guided Passage" in my battle victoriy for my entry. it's set up to be as an Epic Magic Card Game of words by this punster....

Wow alot easier then I thought...
Rich :)

AAA: (As An Adddendum:)
I highly recommend Both Robert Lynn Asprin's Myth series and Piers Anthony's Xanth Series for all punsters... And few of Alan Dean Fosters so this is a time you want to call AAA.

Opps I just dealt a winning hand LOL!

separatorline_wide.jpg
Win some money, Participate in:

memeday_tag.jpg

IntroducingRichAtVNSwithsign.jpg

separatorline_wide_info.gif

I love the mythadventures and impervections of M.Y.T.H. Inc. persons!

Posted using Partiko Android

Have your read the Xanth Series, by Piers Anthony and Alan Dean Foster's Stuff?
There is also a great Funny Tongue and Cheek Space Opera Schlock from Harry Harrison
called Bill the Galactic Hero and the Other Series of his that's great tongue and cheek is the stainless steel rat series.....

Alan Dean Fosters Phule's Company series is cut from the same irreverant cloth.

I have read Pier Xanthony and ADF. I especially liked the credits in the back of Xanth novels about the puns.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have read the Xanth novels as well, for me, it was a MAGICAL experience...at least up until Bink freed that demon.

Yes..... But he came back..... I would have had to set my Pet Peeve free if he didn't. I think it was just a Crewel Lye that the x(AN)th demon was really Heaven Cent because he was the Source Of Magic. I'm pretty sure Bink had NightMare's for years after that thinking the Harpy Thyme was over. It had to be ruff having everyone Up In A Heaval, and knowing he put everyone between a Roc And A Hard Place in one Swell Foop. I’m so glad it did not end there because, How Presious Was That While they became the Hope Of Earth on a Question Quest to find the Cube Route to the Vale Of The Vole. Really it was all Faun And Games until Hansan in the Geis of the Gargoyle left the Shade Of The Tree for a Race Against Time through the Xone of Contention to find a Zombie Lover at Castle Roogna. They are all fun reads especially when the Yon Ill Wind was blowing across the Centaur Aisle and the Ghost and everybody runs into the gap Dragon On A Pedestal. I some times wonder what Currant Events the Ghost Writer In The Sky might could lay on the Air Apparent to keep me from being Board Stiff since I finished all of them…
Lol, that’s all I have thyme for….It wasn’t really the Luck of the Draw, I went to the shelf pulled books with names I could use in a sentence, so no I’m Knot Gneiss. Do you know how hard it is to work a Well-Tempered Clavicle into a sentence….
And yes I do have most of the series (except the one’s I have loaned out…)

@freewritehouse is upvoting puns! I hope you'll join us for more contests and friendship!

Deep knowledge!

Posted using Partiko Android

@freewritehouse is upvoting puns! I hope you'll join us for more contests and friendship!

btw I'm selling over 500 Scifi books including robert lynn asprin, anthony and a bunch of other authors mostly stuff from the 70s, 80s and 90s.....

check out some of the titles here:
(This my personal website)
http://vnsinc.com/
no prices make and offer with shipping for any your interested and if we agree.
Transfer some paypal or steem and I ship it...

There alot of stuff out of print there.... and I have alot more pics if interested.....

You know what I just realized I should put it up on a post.....

You should!

Posted using Partiko Android

@freewritehouse is upvoting puns! I hope you'll join us for more contests and friendship!

I will save this one and if the time is right (read: time over, internet connection doesn't let me down) I will see if I am able to understand how to do it (don't count on it).

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll count on it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27