Halloween Horror Writing Contest: Writers Round Up

in #contest6 years ago

Alright folks. The contest timeline had ended. We've got some entries, and I'm excited to read each and every one of them!

The prompt was simple: horror, in whatever inspires you + sparagmos of some kind.

Give me about a week to go through your stories. I'll submit a post summarizing each one (with more or less critique from my humble perspective) as well as announcing the winners.

Thanks so much to each of you!

The Submissions

  1. @cyemela with "Untitled"
    (I think I might refer to it as Bruno's Night Out)

  2. @sarez with "Unspeakable Horror

  3. @marcoriccardi with "The Error"

  4. @theironfelix with "Incident-111a"

  5. @gaby-crb with A Woman's Job

  6. @calluna with The Harbringers

  7. The Mighty @f3nix with "l-wave"

  8. And last, but not least, we've got @tristancarax with "Not Before You're Married"

To those of you that have entered, please try and find time to upvote/engage with each other's works as well.

Cheers y'all.

@dirge

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @dirge
This post was given a rating of: 0.9953662944102459
This post was voted: 100%

Ah, I forgotten to live up a comment here. So I shall sprinkle one here: I say these be good ole works, most I already did my due diligence with. I hope these authors taketh their time to read me post. 'Til then, let's see who steal the prize and how the critiques shall be... Maybe I should run me own contest.

HatKid survivin' by the power of flappin'.gif

Oh my word, so excellent authors here! Can't wait to get stuck to the tearing apart!

Amen, Cal. Thanks God Rowan was busy hahah

Crap, I'm sorry I missed your contest. I don't normally write horror, but if you do another I'll give it a try.

did you write something already and just miss the deadline? I could bend the rules for ya.

Or you could consider calluna's latest horror contest?

Respect, @mctiller

My my, we have la crème de la crème here! It's awesome to be a participant, altough I felt the pressure.. can't wait for the results.

ok @dirge I am really sorry, I am freaking out, there are too many stupid mistakes in my entry. Like I knew there were bits I could maybe put better, but there are like words missing and wrong words and oh my word, I have been talking about it this morning and I am kinda stuck in panic attack mode now. It really isn't up to the standard you ask for anyway and I feel so bad about it and don't know what to do

hey no worries. feel free to edit. I'm feeling sick and haven't even got to yours yet.

Edit? I'm in! I'm feeling the same way as Calluna.

Please, no one would describe yours as full of glaring or obvious mistakes :p it reads as beautifully as ever! I have just fixed spelling and grammar, the odd wrong word, but really hope you aren't feeling the same hot panic :)

Definitely prefer your Grace though ;)

I'm soon going to read yours Cal.. I was full of redundancy and others things that I don't even want to mention hahaha.. Thank so much for your appreciation, it's a priviledge to write with you.

Gunna leave comments when i read them all, but someone (I think :p) saw some great parallels to the addictive nature of self harm in yours. Thank you, you too, kinda, reached a breaking point on writing right now lol, but I did commit, I will attempt finishthestory so hopefully that will be the end of this very long run.

I do really love that we have gone for the same name, and posted so close to each other. Collective subconscious lurking in the basement shadows ;)

We're developing a hive mind! Yumm there's material for writing 😜 If you reached a breaking point, you hide it well my friend. Take it easy and try to keep the channel of your awesome creativity open, sometimes they're our only source of inner strenght.

Thank you, pretty much only fixed the grammar and spelling and wrong words, sure there is plenty more i am still to out of it to notice.

hope it is passing sickness, and not poorly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83