Fact to Fiction Writing Contest – 20 STEEM in Prizes – Open For Entries

in #contest6 years ago

T minus 6 Days

Fact to Fiction Writing Contest

With six days and counting until the deadline on 20th March at 00:00 GMT/UTC, I hope you’ve been inspired to the point of having your entry written and ready for that editing and polishing phase and submission. There’s still 6 days to get it all done.

The Fact to Fiction writing contest challenges writers to create a piece of fiction, poetry, or creative non-fiction based on their inspiration of the prompt—which led with a fact and concluded into fiction. The prompt was to inspire, in any way or form, that which comes to you.

The prompt:

The nearest star to us is 4.25 lightyears away, that's why wishes take at least 9 years to come true.

Open For Entries

As promised, it is the 14th March and the contest is officially open for entries. For 6 days—from now until the 20th March—all entries will be accepted. When you’re ready to submit your entry, create a post and drop the link to it in the comments below. You are welcome to attach an image and a sneak peak in the comment with your entry link if you wish to. Whole entries pasted as a comment will not be considered—the entry should be a post made by you. You are welcome to use any tags relevant to your post.

Plagiarised content or copyright infringement of text, images, or any media, will result in automatic disqualification, a report to Steemcleaners, and a flagging of the post. Only original content, created by you, is acceptable. I will be checking.

All entries that qualify to the criteria and rules will receive an upvote from me as well, to show my support and appreciation of writing on the Steem blockchain. It’s not much, but it is something and little somethings go a long way.

Check out the announcement post for the rules, judging criteria, and prizes.

Fiction, creative non-fiction, and poetry are all accepted.

The Prizes

First prize entry will walk away with 10 STEEM and the payout of the Announcement post, making the first prize win 10 STEEM and 2 SBD, rounded up.

Announcement Post payout

The two runner-up entries will each receive 5 STEEM and half of the SBD payout of the Reminder post, rounded up.

Look out for the winners post which will be posted within a week after the contest deadline—no later than 27th March 2018.


Please make sure to indicate that your entry is for this contest if you submit your piece for feedback in The Writers’ Block critique queues, so that I know which pieces to stay away from and not look at, in fairness to all participants.

The payout of this contest opening post will go to animals in need, by donating it to @tarc. 10 STEEM was already donated with the announcement post. You can help them, too. An upvote of this post and a resteem is greatly appreciated.

10 STEEM donation to TARC

With many thanks to @bex-dk and @josie2214 for donating SBD and STEEM for the prizes!

I look forward to your submissions, and good luck!

...

Have you voted your witnesses yet?


Witness banner.jpg

Follow me and stay updated with more posts:

Of Beasts and Men [Novel] | Short Stories | Artwork | Poetry | Norse Mythology | Non-Fiction Articles | World-Building Tools

Sort:  

While I don't have time to enter the contest, since this post payout is going to such a wonderful cause - tip!

Thank you so much! <3

You're very welcome!

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #48. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

What a wonderful writing opportunity...I just made a wish to come up with a touching story idea to submit. Now, I'll have to wait nine years I guess to enter your contest...

Can you extend the deadline a bit? Please...??? Nine years ain't that long. Steem should be worth a lot more by then as well...

Have a day of smiles.

Haha, I wish I could extend it. I'd get practically novels after 9 years for this. Thank you, and hope you have a wonderful day as well.

Nice to hear back from you @anikekirsten glad I gave you a chuckle...I still have some days left to enter...I shall try. Regards @averageoutsider

Hey there! I just wanted to support! I was hosting Voices from the Mountains radio on MSP Waves last night with some friends and heard about @rhondak and this generous cause you're supporting.

Thank you for what you're doing.

I personally may not have time to participate as an entrant into the contest, but I did support with 100% strength of my current upvote power and wanted to say thank you so much for what you are seeding. 💘

Thank you! Every bit helps and I'm glad to see the cause spread. Several members on @thewritersblock pledge proceeds of posts to @tarc and we appreciate any upvotes to send money for the animals that Rhonda takes care of.

Hey @anikekirsten, I am so happy to hear that you are noticing the support coming in like this. What a wonderful community of people who take the time to demonstrate their care.

Oh, man! Good to know there was a mention on MSP about our efforts. That rocks! Thank you for the shout-out to let me know, @intuitivejakob. :-)

Hey @rhondak, yes, someone mentioned it on my radio show. (Sorry, I do not have her Steemit address.) I love how the community stays on top of keeping each other informed.

I hope you are feeling much better, too! You have been in my prayers and I lit up some smoke for you as soon as I heard.

Thank you so much! :-) Yes, I'm starting to feel more like myself this afternoon. FINALLY. :-)

I hope it's not late to submit. This is my entry;
https://steemit.com/writing/@cheekah/despair
Hope you enjoy reading through.

Thanks for entering!

Sorry this might be late, but I wanted to share it anyway. Your prompt lingered on my mind. Regards AverageOutsider Thank you. (Part One of Two)
https://steemit.com/writing/@averageoutsider/the-lonely-wish-upon-a-star-part-one-of-two

Here is part (two - End) Thank you for the inspiration.
https://steemit.com/writing/@averageoutsider/the-lonely-wish-upon-a-star-part-two-end

Thanks for entering! You're on time.

Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/fiction/@jayna/jenny-s-wish-a-contest-entry-for-fact-to-fiction.

(Did I get in under the wire? It's still the 19th where I live, but I just looked at the deadline and realized it's zero hour on the 20th, so I may have missed it. Anyway, no worries. I had so much fun writing this. It was totally worth the attempt!)

Thank you for entering! You're on time, haha.

Yay! Thank you. Good luck with your judging process!

I think I had the same 'lateness' Good luck Jayma...hope we were not too late.

Hi. I'd like for this post to be considered for the contest. Thanks.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@dirge/the-book-of-austin-short-fiction

"The boy was a monster. No other way to describe it. Now, ain't no one believed me then, and I don’t expect you to believe me now. Police say I’m a murderer. That I killed my own son, my own daughter. They’re wrong, and I’ll die being right. God, if there is one, knows how it all happened."

Thank you for entering!

Thanks for entering!

Hi @anikekirsten - thank you for sponsoring this contest. Hope I made it on time - here's my story called, "STILL DAZZLING After All These Years." Cheers to fellow writers and contestants. https://steemit.com/fact-fiction/@ktfabler/still-dazzling-after-all-these-years

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28