You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #23: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

HURRICANE OPHELIA : BLOOD IN THE SKY

That was my second year in Bangladesh, I heard so much of the city, most things I heard could scare the living daylights out of me, but I remained resilient, dogged, quite unintimidated and undaunted.

One of the not so good stories I heard was that of constant, recurring natural disasters that usually swept through the city intermittently leaving behind lots of injuries and deaths in quantum.

I was in Bangladesh to do my Masters degree program at the Federal University of Bangladesh.

I was barely four months into my stay there than the first life threatening disaster hit the city. It was called hurricane Ophelia
I had never seen such a thing before all my life in my little country home of Uyo here in Nigeria, all I could mutter was The Blood of Jesus Christ.
Such whirl wind coupled with torrents of rain that lasted for eight hours non stop.

The sky was bleeding indeed!
It was my first time of seeing a red sky all my life.
I just couldn't wait to get back to my country - Nigeria never to experience such nightmare again!
FB_IMG_1521512533516.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15