eResearch 2018 - BlockChain and People’s view

in #conference6 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone,

At the time of this post I am currently attending New Zealand eResearch 2018, in Queenstown.
image

There is a lot of interesting talks about genomics, data compute and data sciences.

BlockChain on eResearch

This is the first time BlockChain gets to a eResearch conference in New Zealand. Presented by myself in a "lightening talk" type of presentation and with the main idea of broadcasting the technology, I have also tried to understand what are the main interests, if any, or what the research community perceives of it.

My view

So far, my conclusion is not far away from what I was guessing, but it was still interesting to know that more and more people is now using more often the "bitcoin" buzz word on their presentations. So definitively slowly becoming a known area. Although there much to work to be done in regards to clarify what the technology can provide, where and how can you use it.

I leave you with a list of all presentations and the abstracts:

Once possible I will add some more comments around what I mostly liked.

If you are around let me know.

Cheers

Sort:  

Certainly sounds like a really fascinating conference. Nice setting too!

If you don't mind, can I share this post in our NZ discord server, in case there are members close by for you? (I'm not sure there are, but you never know.) :)

Of course. This is the idea. To get broad with the conference. Especially because I am part of the the NeSI Team.

Excellent, thanks. Done. :D

I'm in Southland, but over the other side.

I am from Wellington. Nice to connect.

Us kiwis all have to find each other somehow. :)

I think I left our Discord server invite link in a comment on another of your posts, if you are interested. We are slowly building numbers, and you'd likely know many already. :)

I'll be interested to read your post-conference wrap up, too.

I think I saw that... but was already expired I believe. Can you post it back here or send it me directly over my discord ID forykw
#4686

Blimey, I hope it wasn't accidentally set to expire! I popped it around a lot of kiwis lol.
Here you are:
South Pacific discord invite link:

discord invite

but if that no longer works, here:
https://discord.gg/99b2KCH

Done. Thanks

Interesting hear what was your experience there. Regards

It's nice to see people's view and understand the challenges research faces in New Zealand the the rest of the world.

This is awesome @forykw,
Why do they do these conferences during school time and not school holidays.

Yes, I completely agree and we at NeSI have expressed several times that the could be ran in a more academic friendly calendar. This might change in the near future. But anyway, thanks for the feedback.

This is awesome @forkyw, I'm going to a blockchain meetup on thursday. Greetings from Auckland. And yeah, come join our server :P

I will. I have been a bit off these things because of work and personal reasons. But soon I will have some extra personal time to which I plan to spend on/with the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33