It is not always what you spend.

in #compare6 years ago

I was on Youtube watching a video by a Canadian regarding a Chinese Tomahawk and how the quality far exceeded his expectations. He collects and discusses weapons focusing on Viking era stuff and covers bronze age stuff to modern machine guns. Really this is all I am going to say about that as it was many moons ago I was a knife collector and very good at throwing knives butterfly knives, etc.

What I wanted to talk about is quality in relation to cost. As far as knives go I have a multi tool I bought with Canadian Tire money that equaled maybe $3.99/4.99 cdn$ and a Chinese retro wood and brass lock knife worth £4.99 and both will surely last me a lifetime. I have also bought a knock off swiss army in both Holland and Canada, both of which will not last long. They have a value of $1.98 and 5€ respectively.

Enough about cutlery, this goes beyond, and I am not saying expensive items are not value as some are truly worth it. Had a pair of Polo leather deck shoes and although they gave me trouble at the airport (metal plates in sole...yeah didn't believe the border agent either, but it is true!) Take a mk1 VW, it will last you forever, just keep it away from corrosive road salt that dirty Governments use. We all appreciate technology, otherwise you wouldn't be on steemit, in this case I will talk about smart battery chargers. I bought one for £30 (well maybe it was £28..)

IMG_20180706_144832.jpg

and another a few years earlier at £1. Guess which one is still in service today? Yes the GBP/£ that keeps on giving!

IMG_20180706_073354_074.jpg

I have traveled with this trusty charger and use it at home. USB and works great with puters, and those 10,000MAh battery packs for mobile phones and tablets. You never really know what will turn out to be an "old trusty", just don't turn your nose up at price - rather look at it regarding quality and build. This goes for anything consumable. You could even apply this to all things in life, you never know what may end up reliable, much loved, stands by your side, even life saving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22