If the STEEM blockchain is here to stay, Steem Radio is here to stay!

in #community7 years ago (edited)

Imagine the world where everything you want is happening right after you have one "brilliant" idea. That would be the perfect world. You want something and in the next moment, you obtain that something.

You would love that world, don't you?


And now wake up and look around! If you want that something in your actual world you have to act, you have to struggle, to be patient, to work hard, to be lucky or even to fight for that something! Nothing comes easy or for free and only you can decide if you really want that something!

steemradio.jpeg

When I've started the Steem Radio I was thinking it would be easy and things will go smooth and the people will feel the same I did and we will bring to life this wonderful idea! And I was right! Most of the community reacted and we got full support!

Just look at all these wonderful people that saluted with their votes our launch announcement post:

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 14.24.15.png

Now, over almost one year of existence, I can tell you that the reality is not following the original idea and that is happening because we are humans, we are dreaming, we have so many great ideas but we sometimes have trouble obtaining all we are dreaming just because we are not consequent, we are lazy, we are not thinking about everything that could happen and we are not able to solve all the problems at the right time. This is the human nature. The good part in all this process is happening only if we are able to learn from mistakes and continue.

I don't know if you already know the story of the Steem Radio or not, but I want to share it now with you:

Steem Radio was started by me (Peterson John) and Allan (just Allan because he wanted to be just Allan). I had the idea of creating one 24/7 live radio with music, podcasts and live shows dedicated to this wonderful community. Allan was the "technical and radio guy" because he had the knowledge of putting together all the infrastructure of the radio, he worked in many stations and he was the right person for somebody like me to partner with for this project. I always wanted to have my online radio and when I've discovered the Steem Community I told Allan about this and he agreed that this would be an awesome project.

We started in july 2016! In august 2016 when @roelandp launched @radiosteem, Allan gave up because he realized we don't have the necessary skills to do something better on the blockchain! I've tried to convince him to continue, just because I had something different in mind about what this radio should be, but I could not convince him!

Almost losing the faith in this project, I've started to rethink the strategy of Steem Radio and after learning how to build my own online radio I've experimented the first live music transmission on http://www.steemradio.com in parallel with some Steemit oriented episodes on @steemradio blog.

If you are here for more than 4-10 months maybe you remember @steemradio's TOP's :

steemradiotop.jpeg

and the weekly help for original music on Steemit:

steemradiooriginal.jpeg

After almost one year of Steem Radio existence, I've stopped the live transmission because there was almost no interest in listening to music on the website since STEEM blockchain was not involved directly.
steemradiolive.jpeg

That was my personal conclusion after realizing I was not able yet to find any technical solution for connecting the STEEM blockchain to the music and the number of listeners was of maximum 5/day. The diversity of personality types we can find in this community was the main reason we could not satisfy all the musical tastes in one musical selection!

I am learning! You are learning! We are learning!

Steem is in his early stages of existence and the future can bring so many good things for all the people involved. We are all learning and searching for the best path.

As a social experiment of using music on this awesome blockchain, I've started the #steemradio-music type of tags series and I've discovered so many music lovers enjoying this new approach! You post your favorite music in the appropriate tag and people can vote for it! Simple! It is so good to feel that you can start something new and people are jumping in and helping you. You can browse some of the main tags and find really good music!


dancepoprocklatinofunk
alternativehip hopelectronicchillreggae
indiecountryr&b/souljazzworld

When you see people asking for more, you discover the potential of the idea! People started to create more tags and subgenres like #steemradio-classical #steemrario-metal and much more.

I want to thank you all for your contribution and to invite you to continue posting your music using the steemradio tags. This could create the new blockchain type of one "radio station"!

Imagine the power of the music voted by the community!

Are you in the mood for one good classical song? Just go to #steemradio-classical and listen to one trending post! It must be a good classical song if it is trending! What if #steemradio-positive will make your day with one trending song? See? So many options for another type of "radio". The radio that WE can build daily, weekly, just by using the STEEM blockchain!

What about the talk shows and the podcast?

The answer is so simple: Just hit the REC button and start using your mic!The #steemradio-talk is waiting for your post! Do you want to talk about trading? Just start the #steemradio-talk-trading tag! You are free to express yourself! I will try to put together all the tags on the @steemradio and let everybody know about the existence of a possible interesting tag!


I am Peterson John and I am running the @steemradio blog on STEEM blockchain! I am not good at coding or maybe at creating good Steemit content but I want to continue the Steem Radio idea after learning something this year: THE POWER IS IN THE COMMUNITY!

If you enjoy this new radio concept feel free to use any of the steemradio tags or to add new appropriate steemradio-tags and to mention @steemradio in your posts.


This time I am not alone in this project. You can be my partner and you can help at:

"Building the sound of the STEEM community!"

SteemradioLogoSmall.jpg
http://www.steemradio.com

Sort:  

I'm with you mate! Steemradio is such an awesome idea! i think everyone who loves music will contribute to that!

A radio host for Steemit is a wonderful idea. How might an artist like myself be able to contribute or help in any way?

You can add your music using the steemradio-tags . You can even start posting in #steemradio-talk!

I do hope you have found our Steemit Local Music Society on Discord. It's a new server, but growing quickly with the kind of content you're looking for. Feel free to DM me on Discord on steemit.chat if you have some ideas you'd like to add to the server over there that could help your curation after you check it out.

I will register right now on discord! Never used it but I will try it! Thank you!

Im 100% on this...
but did you hear what happened today?

dey cray cray.

#funny #eos

Well done. Great stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76