[Steemit Tips] The Answer To => "Why Should I Post If No One Reads My Blog" | "I Don't Feel Like Posting Today" | Why You Must Post Regularly On Steemit

in #community7 years ago (edited)




I was in one of the chat rooms when I noticed these statements coming from a Steemit user. This post gives my thoughts on the right way to take the slow pace of recognition on Steemit and gives you reasons why you should post regularly while aiming to be a successful member of the community.

Turn A Disadvantage Into An Advantage



Among the new users on Steemit there are always the lucky few who sail on to a relatively high reputation score with a few powerful votes. I am glad that I wasn't one of the lucky few. Here's why I think so:

The biggest problem I faced on my first few days was to decide what to post. Fortunately I discovered that making comments instead of creating blog posts would be a better idea. Commenting would make me visible enough to get me noticed and give me enough upvotes to increase my reputation.

Suddenly I found that it gave me a sense of purpose without the fear of not getting noticed. My comment had to be noticed because they were all long and "noticeable". I made sure that they added to the conversation in addition to being closely related to the post. The posts that I commented on were popular trending and hot posts with lots of views. The authors of these posts were already established with a high reputation.

That was why I was glad that I got an opportunity to comment first before blogging. The biggest discouragement is to not have anyone read what you write. It did not happen to me purely because I commented on popular blogs making me noticed and getting me the much needed upvotes.

enter image description here

If I had been given a high reputation owing to a powerful boost in my first week I am sure that I would have become complacent and never learnt to be consistent, something that I have been since my first day on Steemit.

Advantages Of Commenting



Here are the advantages of commenting taken from my previous post.

Firstly, it gives you visibility on Steemit. When you make a useful comment on a post that is trending many people will see it and notice you. A good comment gets many upvote too taking it up to the first position in the comments section or to one of the first few positions.

Secondly, many people will like your comment and decide to follow you. The more comments that you make the more followers you will gain.

The third advantage is that your reputation will go up as you keep commenting. This isn't a very well known fact but upvote and vites high power do increase your reputation. Starting out with a reputation score of 25 you can easily gain at least 10 to 15 points only by making comments that add value and are appreciated.

The fourth reason is that comments are a great earner on the beginning. Whales have been known to upvote good comments with votes equal to anywhere between 20 SBD to $200 SBD.

With so much going for you just by commenting well on posts you will be well motivated and encouraged to continue authoring comments and blog posts. You will also become a known person whose content is appreciated by the community.

Posting Regularly



There is an unsaid rule on Steemit and if you don't know it here it is.

You have to post everyday if you are a serious blogger on Steemit. I know that this sounds like a very strict rule but if you reflect upon it for some time you will realize that it is not.

For example how many times do Facebook users post on their timelines?

enter image description here

Most regular Facebook users I know post several times day and each post is at least 100 words long! In fact I used to be a Facebook addict myself and an active member of many FB groups. There wasn't a single day when I did not post 500 to 1000 words in posts and comments and much more on days when I wished to convey a new idea or express my opinion on something that may have been of interest to other group members.

Sadly Facebook never paid me for a single comment I made although some of them got hundreds of likes and many shares!

Here are some advantages of posting regularly on Steemit:

  • If you post or comment regularly on Steemit, you also get paid regularly. It may be a few cents every day but it adds up in due course of time. I have seen some comments get good payouts that are much more than what I have seen for most blog posts. In fact, commenting can be a good way to earn money consistently.

  • Regular posting also increases your reputation. When you post a comment or a blog post you will get upvotes - either in small numbers or a big bunch of votes if you have a good title and something that is considered useful in a popular niche. In either case it takes your reputation upward, and when one of the votes has a strong voting power you can go up a few notches on the rep scale, especially if you are on a lower rep score. Reputation works algorithmically, which means that at lower rep scores you can easily get a big increase with a few powerful upvotes.

  • You can hone your social skills by publishing blog posts or commenting everyday. Each post or comment will attract responses and you can make some great friends by answering posts made by others. As you continue to do this, you will know what readers like in your blog posts and comments and can use that information when you create new content.

  • They say that it takes 21 days to form a new habit. When you post regularly it will no longer feel like a chore after a few weeks. In fact it will be part of your daily routine, something that you will not miss any day.

  • Last but not the least the community loves regular users and those who publish consistently, and rewards them accordingly. You get rewarded the number of times you post. If you don't post you don't get rewarded - and you're missing an opportunity.

Conclusion


Making a habit of posting regularly makes it easy for you to be accepted by the community. Acceptance means success and rewards on Steemit. Next time you have doubts creeping up inside you that prevents you from posting regularly remember this post and get down to creating content for the community, and get rewarded with upvotes, payouts and an increasing popularity with high reputation.




Found my post useful? Please RESTEEM it so that it can reach someone who may need to read it. Also, make sure that you FOLLOW me for more. Thank you!

Also Read My Previous Post:



[Best of Steemit] Max Curation Edition No.11 - Find Hidden Treasure On Steemit

Images: Canva, Giphy

Sort:  

Your advice are good and at the beginning it can seem "useless" to post if "nobody notices". Nevertheless, you have to stick to it and continue.

We are growing strongly and reached 17mn visits on Steemit in August !

If you would like to know more metrics on Steemit => https://steemit.com/steemit/@vlemon/steemit-traffic-data-engagement-and-other-metrics-end-of-august-update

This post is important and I agree so much with the idea of keeping this community going. I do not usually write original posts. But I love reading, learning, laughing, and sometimes feeling sad, because of the super efforts of those who care enough to give us their best.
When an emotion, opinion or instinctive response comes to me, I key away.
Thank you!

Yes! I have recently had a chat with some cool people and we were talking about self-promotion on Steemit. We came to the agreement that there is no better way to do that than leaving meaningful comments, posting regularly and striving for quality content. Something you have always advocated @maxabit. I do have the ambition to post on a daily basis, I haven't got quite there yet! But posts like yours are certainly inspirational and definitely give that final incentive push! :)
Best!

@abigail-dantes - I have learnt quite a bit from you since following you in the first few days on Steemit. Strictly speaking you don't need to post "daily", since being regular is good enough - especially if you have such awesome content as yours.

Thanks for the informative post.

Of course, you do need some initial posts to attract people who visit your profile.

I have been very active since I began a bit over a month ago. I really do need to create my own posts daily. I'm trying! :)

If I could add a suggestion, it would be to take every bit of sbd and turn it into steem power!

Great suggestion - to set the SBD to 100% SP. Thanks.

I totally agree with you. Getting started is easy but getting noticed can frustrating. However, commenting and following established content developers is a subtle way of getting recognized. Just keep going!

Thanks. Hope you take action on the post.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Also - check out @reblogger, by reading this post.


Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!


This post has received a 14.71 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @maxabit.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post has received a 6.67 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @maxabit. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86