Yarn Bombed Lamp Posts

in #community5 years ago


Yarn Bombing in Brighton


This is a classic terraced street of small cottages in Brighton. What caught my eye though was the yarn bombing of the lamp posts. And it's not even festival time yet! 😁

I'm always partial to a bit of yarn bombing. I admire the patience of the knitters/crocheters who do this. All that time and effort only to sacrifice their art to the great outdoors. Still if it's a street you often walk along I suppose you'd still get to enjoy it though.

This one's not too huge an effort but I've seen photographs of whole buses that have been yarn bombed.

Mind you I think the big ones are usually community efforts so it's probably a lot of fun socially!

yarn bomb.jpg


These photos of this community effort were taken on the East Coast of England in 2014 which was the last time the World Cup was on. All the pier railings were yarn bombed with different football teams and their supporters.

A winning effort. Don't you think? 😁

world cup yarn bomb 1.jpg

world cup yarn bomb 2.jpg

~

world cup yarn bomb 3.jpg

world cup yarn bomb 4.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

It's the first time I hear about this. People's creativity never ceases to amaze me. When I think I have seen it all, someone or something proves me wrong. 😂

Thanks for the amazing photos, Gillian!

I've seen quite a few now, over the years @trincowski. They are always fun to stumble across. 😊

I've never seen anything yarn bombed for real, but have seen multiple photos on the next of different outdoor things decorated like this. I thought it was beautiful as it is usually highly colored.

Love the pole dotted in yarn flowers and those yarn figures on the rails are adorable !

I've been fortunate to see quite a few examples now @jacey.boldart but I've yet to see one being installed, or taken down come to that. They're great fun though aren't they, but a lot of work! 😊

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 48% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Nice photo shared

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.409 which ranks you at #2305 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2306).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #138.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85