The Value of Steem will be Measured in the Originality of Its Content

in #community6 years ago

In a recent post, @timcliff initiated an important discussion - https://steemit.com/trending/steemvalue - on the need for diversification of the Steem development pool - alternatives - and, as well, gave us four questions to answer designed to get feedback on our view of the contributions we value. Although value is measured with many yardsticks, the following are my thoughts in the simplest of terms. #steemvalue

• What types of contributions do you consider adding value?

Original content on any subject that initiates or adds to the conversation.

• What types of things will you upvote/reward?

Original content where an effort has been made to share a thought, an experience, an expertise, to entertain, to express a point of view through verbal and non-verbal talents.

• What types of things will you downvote?

Attempts to misrepresent, to mislead, to spam, to bully and collusion to deplete the rewards pool through excessive posting

• What types of projects will you consider delegating SP

Projects that support the spirit, goodwill and development of the platform.

Sort:  

Hi Brian, I accidentally crossed into your blog through bleedpoet.
I'm going to add my 50 cents about this subject.
I think Steemit is changing: it started like a platform of writers and artists who wanted to support each other, however now people are getting tired of it.
It's tiring to post always original content. Not all of us are professional artists or have the time to engage in here. Not all of us are inspired all the time.
People started to post just about their daily life, few thoughts or few photos, just like a real social platform, like facebook. What's the need to be always intellectual? To always bring something original?
I myself used to write very interesting posts on a daily basis, but I just can't keep it up.

Steem is changing. It’s still in beta format and experiencing growing pains. But regardless, its core value is dependent on ‘posting original content, upvoting others’ original content, commenting on original content, building communities and earning. The strategy for most out there, is post and like- minded people will find you. That’s not pragmatic. There’s just so much traffic it’s hard to build a like-minded community. So, we need to source like-minded people and build our micro-community from scratch. Unfortunately, tags as they are now, are far too broad and are being used by people who are looking for rewards but not blogging content. Nonetheless, building your tightly focused community is important. Continue searching within but also on-board people who share the same interests. Often, we create problems for ourselves. We follow too many people, we upvote badly, we aren’t investing enough into Steem Power, we post too frequently, we deplete our voting power uselessly, to name some. But there’s also a misconception that original content needs to be intellectually based. It doesn’t. It just needs to be original - from you - and add to the conversation of the community following you and you them. There’s nothing wrong with posting content outside the interests of your community but it might be best not to tag it as a community blog. And there’s nothing wrong with up-voting people outside your community if the post warrants it. There are corrections coming to help with communities. But in the meantime, building a micro-community around a specific interest is something we all need to do - lay the ground work. That and correcting our bad habits will go a long way to helping the platform prosper.

Thank you for replying to me.
I just dilapidated my voting power to 20%, did I upvote badly? I don't think so! I want to share and give my love to my micro-community and it is never enough to me.
Did I easily find the people who have passions in common with me through hashtag? More or less, but it took me a lot of time to hanging around in steemit. Some of these people who have something in common with me (the micro-community you were mentioning) can't keep it up neither. They have periods when they are not very inspiring or just tired and/or busy. I still support them because I'm faithful to my community and I became friends with them. In this, you can see that the value of steem is NOT in the original content, but in the interaction/relationship built upon/among steemians.
Are we forgetting this is a social platform and the content we produce is null if we don't support each other?
It's a bit like that quote of Into the wild "happiness is real only when shared". With the HUGE difference that here, most of the time, quantity goes over quality because of the 7 days limit payout- a rule that should be changed.
I also post 100% original content and don't use bots, I go completely unnoticed most of the times. Who gives a fuck at this point? I don't. Steemit is worth peanuts, but I'm posting and upvoting and exchanging with you right now because I love to do it.
On a related note, Ned, one of the founders, just published a post looking for developers. I really hope he will also look for experts that make the interface more user-friendly for us (talking about better tags) and more mobile friendly!
Let's change those things, let's help curators and authors to be better friends and to find each other more easily and that would give way more value to steem.

Steem value as we all know is determined by the content originality of what the community members drop in the community.

From the range of questions you have dropped sir @brian-rhodes one will have to undetstand where they fit in most and maximise their strength zone to give their best here.

And when it comes to quality post, comments and contributions that are worthy of what matters good upvotes should be given too.

I believe the steem blockchain was built on some values that have made it what it is today. When it comes to original content i believe that is one out of many they value. The issue of plagiarism is wrong, bullying and other negative factors that are against the values of steem should be downvoted.

And list could go on and on.

Thank alot for sharing this valuable piece here I just learnt new thing today from you boss.

   ****Kudos to you sir****

Just my opinions, keep in mind, I'm still a steemit noob.

• What types of contributions do you consider adding value?

I feel that what adds the most value is original content; articles, images, video. Vibrant discussions of those topics.

Too long (unless your target audience is expecting) and people tune out.
Too short (unless you are making memes) and there's not enough meat for discussion.

• What types of things will you upvote/reward?

Ideally - I would upvote those articles that catch my attention, make a good argument, or otherwise bring a perspective that I may not have considered. I've upvoted posts even where I disagreed with the content, but where the argument was well presented.

In reality - I browse through the topics that I know are going to be the ones to attract the most attention, trying to maximize curation rewards. I even find myself upvoting posts where I don't understand the language because the stats are positive for potential reward. And I hate myself for it.

• What types of things will you downvote?

I'm not really interested in down voting, unless it's something that is openly plagiarized from a known source and there is no attempt to represent it as a copy.

• What types of projects will you consider delegating SP?

I need to build up enough SP first before I should start thinking about how to use it.

lol:) I was looking at the same picture when was picking the image for my answer to @ timcliff. Pixabay, ha-ha!
I'm agree with you, original content is what we all are looking for in the Google search, and it is what we like to find while scrolling down our Feed page. We need to support it and we'll see more of original content in our New.

The contribution adding value.....Are the one that profer solution to the subject matter at hand either through adding more value to the content or by asking question.

The kind of thing i will reward or upvote are: life experience of people, original content that can add value to someone life , or encourage someone that is going through tough time.

The type of thing i will downvote will be plagiarism of content.

The projects i will support are humanitarians projects....
Thanks @brian-rhodes for sharing.

a very interesting post for me to read, I am very interested in upvote for posting that gives the impact of development direction to others, I am very happy when you open opportunities like ibi, I am ready to contribute to the master who has been watching me so far, I am not fond of The #SBD I have for me to transfer to the @brian-rhodes all, I need #SP delegation to be able to develop myself especially and generally I can help those who are still learning to be independent to be more lead.
initially I have a plan to borrow some #SP delegates with masters @brian-rhodes with contributions that I can dedicate to master is every #SBD I get I send for you master @brian-rhodes, if you agree it I will work for you and with hope guidance from you to me as your protege.
I am looking forward to your help from you, I would like to get the SP delegation from you and every #SBD I get will be sent to you, thanks to the post @brian-rhodes lord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29