Mysterio: Marvel Legend ACBA

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

mysterio.jpg
This figure was a great one to find, that I didn't even find for myself! My good friend whom I have mentioned over and over in these posts @charleschop found this one for me at a Target. Since he did not have the money at the time he hid it, so one of us could return at a later date and purchase it. After listening to his pirate map-like instructions I promptly went hunting... Walk through the main aisle... turn left at the lego's... it will be on your right.... about chest height... maybe 3 or 4 steps into the aisle... behind some girl legos... While looking like a fool rummaging through the girls lego section, I unearthed Mysterio and gave a guttural "argghh" for finding the buried treasure.

AAARRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHH

Mysterio, like most Spiderman villains... is awesome. He seems to pop up when least expected. Probably one of the coolest plot twists ever was caused by Mysterio in the original "Old man Logan" run. I mean... lets be real... Old man Logan has to be one of the coolest comics ever...

I DIGRESS

While purchasing the figure I have never had a cashier inspect the figure box so thoroughly. She looked at what seemed like every single side, peering through the case... turning it around and squinting... like I was trying to smuggle heroin out of target or something. LADY, JUST GIVE ME MY TOY!!

Lizard BAF wave

Mysterio is my first figure from this wave, and definitely not the last. Lizard is definitely one of my favorite Spiderman villains, and a must have for my collection. This for me is my second must have Build-a-Figure after the Gladiator Hulk I bought. I love the idea of BAF's because it gives a bit of incentive to collect the whole "wave"... although I know it is a genius marketing ploy... it is probably the only reason I would buy the entire wave... or at least trade BAF parts for the various pieces I need. With Mysterio I got one of the legs, which shows some awesome toe articulation which is pretty rare for a figure to have nowadays.

Back to Mysterio

The detail on this figure is incredible, not only does it TOTALLY nail the iconic Mysterio look, but it also comes with some sweet extras. You get those creepy tendril/smoke looking green things that go by his legs which typically would be enough... but upon taking his helmet off, you see that the theme of *"tendrils" * is continued in the illusion of his face.


Both accessories are meant to give the impression of him casting an "illusion". He is not an actual magician like Loki or Dr. Strange, but rather a Master Illusionist and hypnotist. These tendrils are meant to scare or confuse his opponents, and are not "actually there".

Now for the part we are all here for!!

I should tell you now what this is called... the posing of action figures and such...
This style of photography is called: ACBA

  • Articulated
  • Comic
  • Book
  • Art

and so @tarazkp doesn't say that I am making it up... here is the site
https://www.articulatedcomicbookart.com/

The stuff here is sooo much better than anything I have done. I need to get some diorama stuff, and maybe 3D print some as well.

Mysterio Vs. Spiderman

Knowing Mysterio's powers Spiderman is frightened of what he might see, or do...

Immediately his fears prove correct as he bursts into flame...

He blinks and the flame is gone... but before him are the heads of his friends...

Blinking again All the heads are gone.... including his...

monsterfooter_LI.jpg

Check out my other recent figure posts!

Cable
Black suit Spiderman
Deathlok

Sort:  

Just picked mine up a few weeks ago. Sweet fig.

Yeah. It really is. You see the variant head? Kinda cool

Dude. Mysterio. The best.

Such a good figure too

Yeah. I still need one for myself that I’ll snag eventually.

You really have no shame. I am jealous.

I sold my inhibitions as a child for money to buy toys

You got a 100.00% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86