Speculating on Comics 12.19.2018

in #comics5 years ago


Image Source

Here we go again. It’s a big week for Marvel comics, as this week features quite a few “Stan Lee” memorial style issues. I won’t be collecting most of them, as I feel like Marvel has way too many variants as it is. The *Defenders Best Defense #1 * has six variants alone: 3 regular price ones at 4.99 USD, a 1:25, a 1:50, and a 1:200. That would cost almost $300 USD if you wanted the complete set. DC has its fair share of variants too, but I feel like they are a bit more manageable week over week. Maybe I’m just biased, but it’s hard to keep up with all the Infinity Wars and Spider-Geddon titles week over week...and that’s not even getting into the X-Men stuff. Anyway, pity party over!

This week has a few items of note; I won’t have a chance at any of the flip picks. I hope you do, however, as a few of these can help subsidize that weekly budget. Without further delay, let’s review.

Picks for Flips

Grumble 2 Frison Variant


Image Source

This one is from Albatross, and is a limited print run. If you can grab a copy or two, you should be able to make a few $$$s off of them on Ebay. This sold out ASAP last week Wednesday.

Die Kitty Die Heaven and Hell 3 Parent Variant


Image Source

Another one that sold out quickly, this one features a Bewitched retro style cover.

Killmonger 2 Dekal 1:25 Variant


Image Source

This one flew out of inventories last Wednesday. This one did have one presale for $35 USD on Ebay already; if you can get a decent price on it and I like the character (and have the cash), another one to pick up.

Freedom Fighters 1 Oliver Variant


Image Source

If I see this one on Wednesday, I’ll grab it and hold on to it for a possible small profit. I’m a bit burned out on the whole “Nazi won WWII in an alternate reality” motiff of late, so I won’t plan to keep up on this series.

Thor 8 Andrews Variant


Image Source

I think this is Angela; if you see it, grab it without a second thought. This one is a regular price variant, so the upside vs risk is perfect. I won’t have a chance at it, but I hope you all do.

What I Want for My Long Term Collection

Catwoman 6 Artgerm Variant


Image Source

This might be Artgerm’s last cover for the Catwoman run. I managed to pick up issue #3 for cover price, but that leaves me with scrounging for issues #1 and #2 to complete the set. Artgerm’s covers on this series over the past month, raw, have resold as such:

1 - $ 6.50 USD
2 - $ 5.75 USD
3 - $ 5.75 USD
4 - $ 8.75 USD
5 - $ 8.00 USD

I think this stretch is a good one to hold, long term. And this cover is gorgeous...just remember, Artgerm is supposed to be due up for a Batgirl soon too.

Batman 61 Mattina Variant


Image Source

Wow, I love this cover. I know it’s not a low print run, scarce, signed, or an incentive variant, yet this is one I’m most excited to get this week. The story is going very strong too; last issue, we think we saw Thomas Wayne’s Batman in the Batcave, but who knows where King is taking the Dark Knight.

Recent raw sales reveal the following :

56 - $5 USD
57 - $ 5.50 USD
58 - $ 5.75 USD
59 - $5.75 USD
60 - $7 USD (limited data)

Aquaman 43 Cover A


Image Source

I wasn’t a fan of the variant on this one, but definitely want this issue. We should see the first appearance of a new villain based on Babylonian myth: Namma. Namma, the possible asexual agent responsible for the birth of the universe and cosmos, as well as Enki and Ea. Some of you know where that could go too...we’ll see how deep in ancient myth DeConnick takes this one.

Ogre 3


Image Source

I’ll actually have all three of these once I get this one. I’m not sure if it’s been optioned to anything yet, but the story has been entertaining.

Spawn 292 Mattina Virgin Variant


Image Source

I moved Spawn over this category as the covers feature Mattina and we’re nearing issue 300. There is some speculation online that the Spawns will have some moments of interest in the run to 300. It is my understanding Spawn has a new power manifest this book.

Other Items of Interest

Amazing Spider-Man 12 Granov Variant


Image Source

I do love my Kirby stuff; I know this is Stan Lee week and everything, but let’s be honest. Kirby is probably the one responsible for the creation of Galactus. I love Kirby. And this one sold out online.

Edgar Allan Poes Snifter of Terror 3


Image Source

I still need to get the first one to get this set in motion, but the second issues was interesting. The Ligeia story was weirdly interesting, so I’ll probably give this another shot this week. There are still issues of #2 at my LCS; do I buy them up? Or let them go? I just don’t know!

Fantasmagoria Holiday Special


Image Source

This one sounds interesting too; three stories based on the myths of the American Southwest and Mexico. I do love a good story based on myths, in case you haven’t noticed. This one probably won’t generate any gains but it’s small indie print worth supporting.

Teen Titans 25 Garner Variant


Image Source

This issue reveals the origin of Crush, Lobo’s daughter. Another one I will probably add to my Teen Titans Garner set.

That's it for this week. Good luck and good hunting to everyone this week! Make a few dollars on those flips, and suddenly that Batgirl 23 gets a bit closer to us all. Or maybe that Teen Titans 12. Either way, there is a chance to subsidize this wonderful hobby.

I'm hoping I can get to the new Aquaman film this extended weekend. I still have yet to see Into the Spider-Verse either, so maybe I'll get two out of the way this coming weekend. If you see either before me, drop a line and let me know what you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86