Speculating on Comics 1.23.2019

in #comics5 years ago


Image Source

Today's thoughts...if you live near or by a Walmart, you might want to head over there this moment and pick up Superman Giant 7. I stopped by after work and snagged two copies; in case you aren't aware, Tom King managed to put a Superman nightmare story in the first part of the book. His nightmare? Watching Lois Lane be tortured, killed, and mangled to death without being able to come to her rescue. There is already a Twitter hashtag with the scare meme "snuffcomic"; we'll see if anything comes of it, but it could be worth something down the road. Way to go Mr. King...way to go! These are already selling at $15-$25 USD.


Image Source

Superman / Walmart excursions aside, I've been hitting the eBay sales fairly hard this past week, looking/scouring for any Justice League Dark and Swamp Thing key issues. With a little luck, I managed a few issues which I'll plan to start summarizing on Steemit. Hopefully some of you will find it useful, and at the very least, enjoyable.

Last week's big win for me was Oliver's Catwoman 7 variant. I managed to get a copy at my LCS and see that prices are in the $10USD range yet on eBay. I'm not cashing my version out as I think the art is gorgeous, but hopefully some of you out there managed to turn a quick profit on it. And that Harley Quinn 57? I wrote that I thought it might very well be this year's Batgirl 23 (and I see others have now thought similar thoughts), and thus far it seems to have some legs in the secondary market. That issue is still fetching sales in the $25-30 USD range. Hooray!

This week is a breather for me, and I'm not complaining. That Swamp Thing 1 is going to require some secret credit card love, so this week's personal buys will be quiet. Thank you comic book deities. With that said, let's review....

Picks For Flips

Punchline 3


Image Source

I know nothing about this book, aside from the fact it's a) sales are limited to 1 issue per customer and b) it sells out immediately online. This one is already going for $15 USD on eBay. I won't have a chance at it, but I hope you do.

Lady Death : Hellraiders 1 Harrigan Variant


Image Source

This "bombshell" cover is already pushing sales above $10USD online. Not really my thing for my daughter's collection, but if you see it, grab it. Harrigan's work most certainly has a strong following in the secondary markets.

The Mall 3 Loureiro Variant


Image Source

One for us 1980's kids, this one is pushing $15 USD on eBay already. Scout Comics continues to shine for both fans of comic books and the comic book collector.

Items for My Long Term Collection

Immortal Hulk 12 Ross Cover


Image Source

Is that the Hulk looking like a swastika? I think so, but before we get too excited, let's recall the swastika is an ancient, positive symbol inferring the divine and spirituality. This series continues to be outstanding, and the Hulk appears ready to meet the "One Below All" whilst in hell. Sounds profound...sort of like the opposite of the "God Above the God." We've got themes of Jung, Hell, the self and its shadow...I dare say we're going full on Gnostic in no time courtesy of the Green beast.

Batman 63 Cover A


Image Source

The Batman continues to dazzle in a surrealist, nightmare-esque world over the past few issues. Now we get Constantine involved. I'm in. I know many aren't a fan of King's direction of late, but I like it. It might not be Superman 7 Walmart, but you never know.

Aquaman 44 Cover A


Image Source

Speaking of ancient things, don't forget this issue will feature the first full appearance of the Babylonian deity known as Namma.

Shazam 2 Samnee Variant


Image Source

Geoff Johns second issue should be good. The first one set up the character, and I am expecting to Johns to pick the pace up a bit in this issue. I do love my DC mystical characters, and Johns understands that area very well.

Teen Titans 26 Gardner Variant


Image Source

I've been working on the entire Gardner set; thus far Robin is still my favorite. This one is going to be close second; the use of yellow and the inference of the Speed Force is amazing.

Other Items of Interest

TMNT : Shredder in Hell 1


Image Source

Speaking of Hell, the Hulk is currently figuring out that we all exist in it. What will Shredder figure out?

Heroes at Large 1


Image Source

I missed out on this one online, but the premise is interesting: heroes frozen in the 1940's are thawed out in the current times. I imagine some type of misadventures take place. I'll hold out on buying this one until I see what people think, as I likely won't get this one at cover price.

Blossoms 666 1


Image Source

Curiously, while watching a video on comic books to buy off of eBay yesterday, This American Life had a short chat regarding the numerology of 666. Of course the summary was lacking in depth and research, but I doubt most people who listen to Ira Glass would care about the number of the Beast potentially being 616. Fast forward to this past weekend, and I notice Blossoms 666 online and a premise regarding the anti-christ potentially being located in Riverdale. The Chilling Sabrina is a great show on Netflix, and this fits that universe. I'll give a go if it's at my shop Wednesday.

That's it for this week; thank you everyone for reading, and as always, please drop a line to let me know what I missed or should be on the lookout for. Good luck on getting that Punchline too (and Superman) too!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sagesigma! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 200 posts. Your next target is to reach 250 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

great, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86