Pencil and Ink Comic Book Review Podcast!

in #comics7 years ago



Hey everyone, 

My name is Tom and I am new to the SteemIt community, but not to cryptocurrency. I got into Bitcoin back in 2014 when I joined a company called Jones Gear in Ann Arbor, Michigan that sold miners and also ran a mining operation. I did the hardware repairs on all of the miners and managed the shipping and returns of the units.   

I just discovered SteemIt while researching new alternative coins and thought that it was a really interesting idea. I also thought that it would be a great idea to post my side-project, which is a comic book podcast called Pencil and Ink Reviews, which is completely run by myself and my two friends. We started the podcast back in 2013 and it is finally starting to gain some real momentum and listenership.  

We currently do not make any money from the episodes that we release and have been running in the red since we started. This hasn’t really bothered us because we have a love for the artistic medium of comics and it gives us an excuse to get together and talk about something that we love. We have six different shows touching on Marvel Comics, D.C. Comics, Valiant, Image, Independent Comics, and Retro comics. 


I thought that Steemit would be a great place to share the podcast and see if we could get some help from the SteemIt community via up voting so that maybe we can pay for web hosting and the domain name from our SteemIt posts instead of from our biweekly paycheck’s J Below is a link to our webpage, our twitter feed, and some episodes I thought you guy’s might find fun and interesting to listen. We appreciate all the feedback that we can get so don’t be afraid to email us, tweet at us, or just post comments here.

 Website: www.pencilandinkreviews.com


Twitter Page: https://twitter.com/pencilandink1 Marvel
 

Tom and John cover the complete Marvel Comics Axis event from 2014 on the long road to Secret Wars.
 

http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com/episode/WCRepisode31.mp3
 

Image Comics Review of Johnathan Hickman’s East of West Volume 1:
 

http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com/episode/Indyepisode10.mp3 Retro Comics:
 

In this episode we travel back to the 1960’s to cover SGT. Fury and his Howling Commando’s from Stan Lee and Jack Kirby.
 

http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com/episode/Retroepisode13.mp3
 

Most Recent Episodes Random Episode 4 Tom and John have a long discussion about the current state of the comic book industry and if the business model is broken. http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com/episode/RandomEpisode4.mp3 Random Episode 5
 

Tom and John sit down to do an episode on Way Ward volume 2 but end up talking about their personal pull list and what they have been reading the past few months. They discuss titles they are thinking about dropping and what new interesting titles Image has been putting out this year. They also take some time to give much deserve praise to D.C. Comics and to complain about Marvel Comics current writing staff and editorial.
 

http://www.pencilandinkreviews.com/episode/RandomEpisode6.mp3  

Sort:  

Woohoo! It's always a happy day when I see new comics content arriving on Steemit. Welcome aboard. If you have any questions about the site/system I'll do my best to help.
Steemit acting as a Patreon type benefactor has a big future ahead of it I think, and hopefully it will help with your podcast.
I'll give your show a listen soon!

Hey Bryan, any chance you found some time to check out our show? Just wanted see what you thought.

I regret that I haven't yet! I've been moving lately and it's occupied all my time and deprived me of satisfactory amounts of internet bandwidth! In a couple more days I should have gigabit internet & a new drafting table. I promise I'll put it on as I sit down to my first drawing in the new place!

I actually do have a question. I bought Steem and Steem Power with some Bitcoin but how do I get SBD so i can promote a post?

If you're selecting the 50/50 payout option on your posts, you'll gradually earn some SBD on those as well as your comments. Steem regularly adjusts how many SBD are being produced as these are considered debt by the network, and the % of debt is aimed at staying in a target range.
You can certainly convert Steem to SBD, but not Steem Power, as it is currently vested and needs to be powered down and made liquid.
Using your Steem, go click the collapsed side menu here, about halfway down you'll see an option for currency market. You can place an order here to convert Steem to SBD. Alternatively you can also use outside exchanges if you're comfortable with them. I have used blocktrades a number of times and also dabble with Poloniex.

Cool thank you for the help! Looking forward to hearing what you think of the show. Always looking for way's to improve the podcast. If anyone would like to donate to the show you can send us Bitcoin at this address.

Our Pencil and Ink team is growing and with 2 of the newest members living in Arizona and Tennessee we are trying to get a cloud based server paid for the year. This way we can send each other issues to read and review.

Bitcoin.jpg

Great post. I will check out your links.

Thanks man! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts. We've been getting our crap together and are gearing up to record a lot of new content in the coming months. We've got new members joining us and we are going to be covering more DC and Image titles.

Nice to see more comics folks here. My husband is an indie cartoonist and I got pulled into the business in more ways than I ever imagined. It is a fascinating culture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85