Sort:  

I can see it, but it definitely wasn't intentional! More a byproduct of limited art skills... (not to say that good manga isn't good art of course!)

I'd guess the dot tone type shading has something to do with bringing manga to mind as well. Very similar to how you're approaching the color palettes on Ithaqa, I was going to shift to blended greyscale at a certain story point. Of course nowadays I wouldn't be limited to black and white, so would probably do my best to use color effectively instead!

I think you're right, the dot shading is what really evokes manga for me haha. I can't speak to comicbook creation (yet) cause I'm still just a no0b, but in film making your limitations as an artist often lead to the most creative solutions.

"Jaws" is a great example since the robot Spielberg had built for the film broke/looked fake so he had to go back to the drawing board and make a film with tension that hid the shark as much as possible, thereby making it a way better more frightening film.

Perhaps intentionally using a limited color pallette makes your work a little more creative for similar reasons?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20