Killer Covers!!! Part 3 The Lizard Arrives!!!

in #comics6 years ago

18589175-8B81-475A-9316-0DC2F804BBB6.jpeg

This Killer Covers write up is on my favorite title...The Amazing Spider-Man. The issue number is #688 and it is the 1:50 Variant by J. Scott Campbell. This book came out in late June of 2012 and was the variant to the regular cover shown below. I happen to also like this regular cover as well.

F66928B1-D8E7-4B8D-8B8F-9FDCB932A10F.jpeg

I like Campbell but I do feel like he phones it in sometimes. When he’s on he makes a masterpiece but I feel like half the time he does the bare minimum. A few reasons that this makes Killer Covers is it’s a breath of fresh air compared to his usual style. Usually it’s pin ups of females. He doesn’t do a lot of male villains so this is a rare treat in that regard. I also really enjoy the background. He didn’t cheap out with a solid color line he does so often. Floor, wall, smoke. That’s it but it adds an entire world of depth to this that truly makes it pop. Kudos to Campbell on a Killer Cover!

Here is my copy! I was lucky enough to snag this when it was fetching around the $60 range several years back. Now in this shape they are moving between $300-$400. In my humble opinion it should be going for a bit more as they rarely pop up for sale. I think it will in time though...

C0A67484-97BD-4A40-8244-D79D889F35CB.jpeg

P.S.- I think I he did this cover knowing that nearly 8 years later he would be featured on my crappy Steemit article that 9 people will read worldwide. This man is a master of the mystics as well!!!

If you want to see more Killer Covers and other nonsense then click that little FOLLOW button next to my name. You will be rewarded with brainless articles such as this...often. Resteems always welcome!!! Please check out my other pieces as well. I cover the comic world’s many different facets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34